HELP please! Recording Juno-G sounds directly on Macbook...

Forum for JUNO-G
ankhifyouloveisis

HELP please! Recording Juno-G sounds directly on Macbook...

Post by ankhifyouloveisis »

Hello,
I am pretty new to all of this, but I'm really into it and would appreciate some help so much. I have a Roland Juno-G and a Macbook Pro and am trying (at the moment, failing miserably!) to figure out how to record Juno-G sounds DIRECTLY into my laptop, and whether or not I will need an audio interface for this. I have a USB cord and it is connected; the synth works as MIDI to control software instruments (i.e., in Garageband) but I cannot get the actual sounds of the synthesizer to go directly into the computer. I also have a 1/4" trs cord that's going from L(MONO)/1 Output (on the Roland) into the input (microphone) slot on my Mac, but this has not seemed to wield any definitive results yet either. Do I need an actual software program on my laptop to unlock the sounds of the Juno-G? Or do I need to bite the bullet and just buy an audio interface? I can't understand why I can't play it through the USB *or* the line-in/line-out connection, but I'd be very grateful for any help.
** I also have a Behringer Xenyx 802 mixer, I don't know if I could use this as some kind of interface, but any help is greatly greatly appreciated!
~ Elizabeth
Blues4dog

Re: HELP please! Recording Juno-G sounds directly on Macbook

Post by Blues4dog »

Your setup should work.
Check all your audio cables,
Your audio settings in Applications/Utilities/Audio MIDI setup,
Your input/output and track settings in Garage Band preferences,
It may sound silly but check your volume/mute settings on the synth, the MAC and in Garage Band.
If your 1/4" cord is TRS (Tip Ring Sleeve) it may be better in the Juno's 'phones' output transmitting stereo to the MAC.
If it is only TS like a guitar lead, leave it where it is.