New Member Here

Questions related to Roland Clan site and forum
yeoldsongsmith

New Member Here

Post by yeoldsongsmith »

I've just today joined the Roland Clan Forum. I've used multiple Roland and Boss products over the years. My favorite product is the GR-20 Guitar Synth I picked up a few years ago.

The reason I felt the need to join a Roland forum is my very recent purchase of a new Roland Juno-G. I've been a songwriter / guitarist for over 45 years and have always been a big fan of Synth keyboard players. I finally decided to buy a keyboard of decent quality just because I needed a new muse. My song writing has always been my main reason for different gear purchases over the years and at this point in my life I decided I wanted a Keyboard Synth to be able to add it's input to the idea machine.

My quest started at the Korg site / forum because I use a Korg D3200 for recording purposes. After quite a bit of checking and double checking I was very close to purchasing a Korg M50. It seemed to have everything I wanted. I then started checking out the You Tube videos of different synths and stumbled on the Roland Juno D. I fell in love with many of the sound examples that were posted. One of your members recently purchased a Juno Di and seemed to go Ga-Ga over it. I decided that would be the Synth I would buy. When I finally got to see one up close and personal I ran into a major problem. I don't like to have to use a computer to make settings and control parameters. The Juno D had six knobs to adjust LFO, Envelope, etc. right on the keyboard. The Di took some of these controls away and replaced them with computer graphics that could do the same plus much more. Still.......I don't want to use a computer to do these things. I like Knobs and sliders, etc..