V-Synth GT in Windows 8.1

Forum for V-Synth, V-Synth XT, V-Synth GT and V-cards

V-Synth GT in Windows 8.1

Postby danielwolk » 21:29, 4 February 2015

Hey guys,

Anyone can help me and say how to install V-Synth GT drivers in Windows 8.1?
I've heard that this is possible and that is a trick for do this.
danielwolk
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 23:24, 23 November 2014
Location: Poland


Re: V-Synth GT in Windows 8.1

Postby stevie_wonder » 12:38, 7 February 2015

Seconded....

Just tried installing V synth GT on Win 8.1 and USB drivers don't take...

After you plug in the syntn, the driver installation does NOT automaitcally install.

Really need USB working, so anyone who had got this work please speak up.

Cheers, Steve
stevie_wonder
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 12:35, 7 February 2015

Re: V-Synth GT in Windows 8.1

Postby stevie_wonder » 12:38, 8 February 2015

Well according to Roland - the V Synth GT is not supported under win 8.1 yet there are drivers for win 8 - which I'm trying to use of course. What's changed betweeen win 8 and win8.1 with USB handling?

The V Synth GT is now out of support. So this situation really stinks where you have what is a fairly new, very expensive top of the range synth already out of support which then can't be used with a computer for USB audio and USB midi, which means NO computer integration with DAWs.

Have emailed Roland support. See what they say.

SO be really pleased to hear if anyone has got this to work.

Cheers, Steve
stevie_wonder
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 12:35, 7 February 2015

Re: V-Synth GT in Windows 8.1

Postby synthman » 17:11, 8 February 2015

wait until windows 10 comes out later in the year it's supposed to fix things that are wrong or missing in windows 8.
synthman
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 12:46, 10 August 2012
Location: London UK.

Re: V-Synth GT in Windows 8.1

Postby danielwolk » 23:10, 25 February 2015

Synthman - do You think that Windows 10 will be compatible with V-synth GT?
What is different in Windows 8.1 that it's not working? Maybe someone know how to fix it?
danielwolk
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 23:24, 23 November 2014
Location: Poland

Re: V-Synth GT in Windows 8.1

Postby stevie_wonder » 10:44, 1 March 2015

It's with Roland. If you want your GT to be working with Win8.1 and future versions, lobby your local Roland support centre and get them to act.

More people who come on board, the more chance of getting them to fix it....

I'm in the UK and they have passed the 'request' to Roland Japan and awaiting to hear. I can only advise for you all to do the same.
stevie_wonder
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 12:35, 7 February 2015

Re: V-Synth GT in Windows 8.1

Postby PauloF » 14:21, 3 March 2015

stevie_wonder wrote:It's with Roland. If you want your GT to be working with Win8.1 and future versions, lobby your local Roland support centre and get them to act.

More people who come on board, the more chance of getting them to fix it....

I'm in the UK and they have passed the 'request' to Roland Japan and awaiting to hear. I can only advise for you all to do the same.


It's one way to put it...

Maybe with Microsoft and Apple too, as they change their operating systems as they please, and we have to "buy" it.

There's no way the music board companies cope with that in a way that we, customers are not affected...


Well if we think wider this is all related :-)

unfortunately, money is the driver, almost nothing else
User avatar
PauloF
 
Posts: 4091
Joined: 02:35, 16 January 2006
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: V-Synth GT in Windows 8.1

Postby synthman » 14:32, 3 March 2015

+1.
synthman
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 12:46, 10 August 2012
Location: London UK.

Re: V-Synth GT in Windows 8.1

Postby HowlingTerror » 14:56, 10 March 2015

stevie_wonder wrote:It's with Roland. If you want your GT to be working with Win8.1 and future versions, lobby your local Roland support centre and get them to act.

More people who come on board, the more chance of getting them to fix it....

I'm in the UK and they have passed the 'request' to Roland Japan and awaiting to hear. I can only advise for you all to do the same.

Which I just did and got this reply.


Hi

Thank you for your email.

The Vsynth GT is not currently supported on Windows 8.1 ( only W8 and below )
You will need to use a separate Audio/Midi interface unfortunately.

Regards
Oliver Davis
Product Support Manager
Roland (UK) Ltd
Office: 01792 702701
Fax: 01792 600520


Maybe with the forthcoming Win 10 Roland are holding off a release.....Yeah Right! [rolls eyes]
HowlingTerror
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 12:58, 10 March 2015

Re: V-Synth GT in Windows 8.1

Postby synthman » 10:50, 11 March 2015

I wouldn't get your hopes up, but you never know.
synthman
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 12:46, 10 August 2012
Location: London UK.

Re: V-Synth GT in Windows 8.1

Postby HowlingTerror » 01:05, 15 March 2015

Just for the hell of it I tried installing the Vista 64bit version.
Right clicked the setup exe and ran the troubleshooter which pretty much led me through the install.

I've not had time to see if everything works but in Cubase 8pro it shows up as an interface and I can adjust the buffer size etc.
HowlingTerror
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 12:58, 10 March 2015

Re: V-Synth GT in Windows 8.1

Postby Quinnx. » 11:57, 19 March 2015

your much better off just using xp mode
Personally i feel you all should just build an xp box and stay with it for your gear
that way it will always work..
My DAW and gear setup works best this way
User avatar
Quinnx.
 
Posts: 3437
Joined: 11:28, 13 January 2005
Location: HomeTown Ireland: Current Location USA

Re: V-Synth GT in Windows 8.1

Postby danielwolk » 12:33, 19 March 2015

Quinnx - Ok, XP is an idea, but we are in 2015 and I would like to look forward not backward, so I expect that Roland will take care of the users so 'unique' hardware as the V- Synth GT, which was the " flagship " model .
It is sad that the company leaves us ourselves without drivers and new soft!...
danielwolk
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 23:24, 23 November 2014
Location: Poland

Re: V-Synth GT in Windows 8.1

Postby tbonesixtynine » 22:57, 13 December 2016

Hi,

sorry for the thread necro. But since I recently was forced to update from W7 to windows 8.1. I been hanving troubles with the GT drivers as well. I have just succesfully installed the VISTA 64 drivers on Windows 8.1, using the compatibility troubleshooter!, and they WORK....


regards!
tbonesixtynine
 
Posts: 21
Joined: 11:15, 4 May 2009


Return to V-Synth

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest