Anyone want a V-Synth Editor?

Forum for V-Synth, V-Synth XT, V-Synth GT and V-cards
bakerysauce

Anyone want a V-Synth Editor?

Post by bakerysauce »

Hey, I just want to gage interest if anyone has a need for a standalone original VSynth editor for macOS?

I haven't really seen a nicely laid out V-Synth editor (and why would I, its only 15 years old... /sarcasm).

I'm a software developer with an unhealthy synthesizer addiction and I love sample mangling.
I have an original V-Synth and it really irked me that the PCM sample "Start Offset" wasn't a modulation destination. I can do this on my Korg ESX and my Kurzweil K2600, and I can make those two glitch really nicely. What I do is turn on an arpeggiator, lock to a tempo, and use some NRPN's to modulate the sample start parameters and constantly re-trigger the sample with the arp, but locked to the tempo. so you can get extremely wild results. Its not transwave or anything, but pretty cool. Like Transformers sounds.

Anyways, it bothered me that I couldn't do that particular trick on the V-Synth, so I wired up a virtual knob on the mac, and linked it to the sysex of the "Start Offset" in the V-Synth and voila, I'm able to do the same weird stuff I can do on a couple other units I have.

Cool. But I started thinking... It was pretty easy to wire up (~an hour including figuring out what the hell I was doing), and I wanted to get the reactions of some other users, and see if there is a need for a full-on, real time editor. The screen is currently damn easy to navigate and I'm not sure how much use it would actually get? But if you wanted real time control over a particular parameter like I did, maybe this is something you might want...