Macbook vs. iMac

Forum for Apple Mac computers
smith570

Macbook vs. iMac

Post by smith570 »

For all you Mac users out there:

I'm considering getting a Mac, because frankly, I haven't been too impressed by the ease of use of some of the Windows DAWs. I'm new to the DAW and want something that will let me expand creatively, and programs like Sonar have been overwhelming. Everything I've watched/read/heard about Garageband and Logic is outstanding.

Recently I've come across a brand new previous-generation Macbook (non-aluminum) with 2.4ghz processors and 4 gigs of ram for $949- an awesome deal to be sure. But the 13" screen and slower hard drive (5400 RPM vs 7200 on the iMac) scare me.

How necessary do you find it to use a larger screen when sequencing in your DAW, and is a 5400 RPM hard drive going to limit me much?
Diametro

Re: Macbook vs. iMac

Post by Diametro »

I have a 17" MacBook Pro (Core2Duo) ... the screen is just about adequate ... I couldn't imagine working with much less ...

I also currently have a 5,400 rpm internal drive and I can record 8 tracks of simultaneous audio with no problem with my firewire MOTU 828 mkii ...
hrbrtsptl

Post by hrbrtsptl »

I stopped buying Macs, out of the 6 I've had 5 have broken (it took Apple an entire year to replace my Mac Pro).

Garageband is somewhat basic, and although I've not had a chance to give Logic a go, I've heard good things about it. That being said, you should stick with a Windows DAW for at least a few weeks. Of the ones I've used it's not taken me long to learn what's what.

Mind, I've got a widescreen 24" screen with my Windows rig, and it's pretty useful, so if you're set on buying a Mac I'd go with the iMac.
smith570

Post by smith570 »

Really appreciate the replies, guys. Thanks a ton.
Artemiy
Site Admin

Post by Artemiy »

smith570: