audio dropouts with Studio Capture

Forum for Apple Mac computers

audio dropouts with Studio Capture

Postby espskully » 16:30, 18 February 2016

Hi there. I have been running a Studio Capture with my Macbook Pro with no issues. I recently bought an iMac with a fusion drive. I got the latest driver for the Studio Capture for El Capitan. I experienced audio dropouts in any application running through the Studio Capture - Logic pro X, YouTube, iTunes, Quicktime etc. The dropouts sound like pops or clicks - I know they are dropouts as when I am recording in Logic, the waveform goes flat (no information) for that split second the audio drops. I have tried to crank the buffer setting on the Capture and within Logic to no avail. I have tried setting the sample rate to 48 kHz to no avail. The CPU and ram usage have headroom - so it's not that. I tried a new USB cable - same issue. It's very intermittent - it can happen within 5 seconds of playback/recording or I can go for 5 minutes with no issue then "pop". I read that the fusion drive on the iMac can cause issues, so I exchanged it for a standard HDD iMac. This is the 3rd imac I have tried and the problem persists. I also tried plugging the iMac and Roland directly into the wall instead of a power bar to no avail. I am so frustrated. Can anyone help?

Thank you.
espskully
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 16:21, 18 February 2016


Re: audio dropouts with Studio Capture

Postby espskully » 17:04, 22 February 2016

I tried a couple other USB audio interfaces after installing their respective El Capitan drivers and they work great. I see the driver for El Capitan for the Studio Capture is actually just the driver for OSX 10.10. It reads "10.10/10.11". These are two completely different operating systems. It's no wonder the driver doesn't work correctly with 10.11. This is a Roland driver issue.

Does Roland intend on releasing an actual working driver for 10.11 at any point? Because the current 10.10/10.11 driver causes these audio dropouts - rendering the Studio Capture useless. I am now going to be forced to get rid of the Studio Capture and replace it with a unit that is actually compatible with OSX 10.11. Extremely disappointing!
espskully
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 16:21, 18 February 2016

Re: audio dropouts with Studio Capture

Postby simon201 » 23:58, 15 May 2016

Having the same problems with a Quad Capture, well not dropouts but definitely pops/clicks on a 2013 3tb fusion iMac. I mailed someone in Roland UK a couple of months back and was told they are aware of it, but it's still here on El Capitan 10.11.4.
In the interim I've had to load everything from Logic Pro on an external drive with El Capitan 10.11.1 and run it from there. Everything working perfectly there so it's maybe a combination of problems between El Capitan updates and the Roland drivers. I'm afraid to update my external to 10.11.4 for fear of having the same problems but I'm sure everything was fine on my main hard drive at the end of Yosemite and the first or second updates to El Capitan. I believe the issue started with 10.11.3 possibly.
simon201
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 23:49, 15 May 2016

Re: audio dropouts with Studio Capture

Postby PauloF » 13:55, 29 July 2016

I had the same type of issues with the Presonus Audiobox 18i8, pops and clicks all the time...
And had to sell it as I couldn't use it with any driver/OS combination (10.9, 10.10...)

Bought a Focusrite 18i8, a lot cheaper than the presonus box and it is rock solid and no pops or clicks and on top of that there is no need for the computer to be running unless you need to record in your DAW as it is completely autonomous

Very good buying !!
User avatar
PauloF
 
Posts: 4091
Joined: 02:35, 16 January 2006
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: audio dropouts with Studio Capture

Postby wilkinsi » 15:35, 28 August 2016

I don't use any of the above, except a MacBook Pro. Its only got a 2.7ghz dual core processor and 8GB RAM. I have to set my soft synth's buffer to 512 samples. Any less, and I will get pops/clicks/distortion. I am curious as to how much RAM and what kind of processor you have in your macs. If I want to drop the latency, I'm obviously gonna need a more powerful machine.
User avatar
wilkinsi
 
Posts: 77
Joined: 16:31, 30 October 2014

Re: audio dropouts with Studio Capture

Postby PauloF » 10:13, 5 October 2016

wilkinsi wrote:I don't use any of the above, except a MacBook Pro. Its only got a 2.7ghz dual core processor and 8GB RAM. I have to set my soft synth's buffer to 512 samples. Any less, and I will get pops/clicks/distortion. I am curious as to how much RAM and what kind of processor you have in your macs. If I want to drop the latency, I'm obviously gonna need a more powerful machine.


That is actually a good suggestion.

@espskully, Did you try to change the Buffer size to see if it matters?
User avatar
PauloF
 
Posts: 4091
Joined: 02:35, 16 January 2006
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: audio dropouts with Studio Capture

Postby simon201 » 19:07, 15 October 2016

New driver 1.5.3 seems to have cured my problems with pops/clicks after all this time...
simon201
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 23:49, 15 May 2016


Return to Mac

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest