Recording Studio

Forums for Windows PC computers
ksmarcolini

Recording Studio

Post by ksmarcolini »

I want to build a recording studio, but I am so recording dumb that I don't know what to get. Budget isn't really an option, however I just want to learn what to do so I know what to get. I am thinking about getting the Yamaha MW12 mixer. I am getting a laptop soon, so if I were to get the mixer, would I input all my instruments for my band in the mixer, and then use the USB to transfer them to my mixing program on my laptop? Do I need a digital recorder? What would that do if I had a mixer? I am just so confused in all of this recording equipment. I am only 16, and I want to go to school for this. However, I have the money enough for equipment. I just need the somewhat of a layout of connections. Can someone just explain something like:
laptop to mixer to...etc. or whatever. I just need a blueprint for it. Sory, but I am a newb. I need to learn this stuff. Thanks
kongwee

Re: Recording Studio

Post by kongwee »

There are many books on studio or home recording. Probably, you can search on the internal, I'm sure there are a lot of free information. Or you can go to soundcraft website to learn some basic stuff.

If you wanna to mix and transfer to laptop. There are many mixer out there with USB or Fireware interface. Some brand like M-Audio, Alesis, Mackie.
jangy

Post by jangy »

Hi ksm

You have a lot of reading ahead of you. A great site for you is TweakHeadz. The creator of this site has put a lot of hard work over many years to compile this info and it's geared towards newbies.