Firewire vs. USB

Forums for Windows PC computers
Patrick_

Firewire vs. USB

Post by Patrick_ »

After doing some reading, it seems that most people don't like Vista. The drivers aren't there for all their studio gear. Outside of 64 bit applications, XP seems to be the best thing around for computer audio.
Today I upgraded the ram in my PC to 1 gig in anticipation of getting Sonar 7. I've decided to use George W's rebate check($300 for me) to get an interface to connect my PC to everything else I've got.
I've never done this before. Furthermore, I don't know anybody else who's done this before. The two other studio musicians I know both use Roland VS(one the 880EX and the other a 1680). Nobody uses PC DAWs.

I was reading some message boards related to this sort of thing and now I'm afraid to buy the wrong thing, then regret it down the road.

I can't see myself needing more than 4 inputs. Maybe two for microphones, one for guitar, one for whatever else. The questions are:
#1-Who here does PC multitracking and what kind of gear do you use?
#2-Firewire vs. USB for the interface. What kind of problems native to either one, benefits, based on your experience?

Even a link to something that could help me figure this all out would be helpful.
achyeboah

Re: Firewire vs. USB

Post by achyeboah »

i'd suggest Tweakheadz.

i hope that helps
Shambler

Post by Shambler »

1) I always multitrack, all of my compositions are 'live' i.e. I never mixdown to audio tracks until I want to record the hold take in one go. That way if I want to change anything it is easiest.

I use an Echo Layla 3G PCI card which has about 8 i/o and into that I plug a V-Synth GT, Fantom XR and a mic for the vocoder + headphones + monitors. Access virus is on usb audio. At the moment the Layla also handles midi for the V-Synth.

I have had similar results using Vista and XP and Cubase 4, it works fine most of the time.