I built a New Computer last night.

Forums for Windows PC computers

I built a New Computer last night.

Postby madAhorn » 16:29, 16 September 2010

OK....now thta I am going the software rout, I just could not help building a new computer.

I wnt with the top of the line AMD 6 core 1090t Black edition.
2 4 gig DDR3 1333 memory modules.
Sata 3 Hard Drive. plus two of my own hard drives.
Window 7 Professional
Nice motherboard with firewire, e-sata, USB 3.0, Sata 3, etc.
A Huge multi fan case with e-sata doc on top.

I am tired at work today. It always takes longer than expected to put all of it together.

I will be installing and testing Kontakt 7 tonight.
I also am getting the M-Audio Audiophle 192 Card today...

Last night I could not get my Yamaha DSP Factory cards to work on Win 7 64 bit, so that very expensive investment may finally have seen it's day... :'-(
And, that means I will have to buy more plug ins, because the Yamaha Reverbs were just awesome!

$1100.00 lighter in the pocket book now.
User avatar
madAhorn
 
Posts: 2188
Joined: 09:25, 22 October 2004


Re: I built a New Computer last night.

Postby Grammar Wombat » 20:26, 16 September 2010

software rout


Rout? Was that a Freudian slip, madAhorn?
Image
User avatar
Grammar Wombat
 
Posts: 432
Joined: 01:52, 23 July 2008
Location: Here

Re: I built a New Computer last night.

Postby madAhorn » 21:34, 16 September 2010

route?

Sorry Grammar Wombat!

I just noticed that Mac only uses one audio driver...
Hmmm...they do simplify things, don't they?

But at 3 x's the price I am still not ready...
User avatar
madAhorn
 
Posts: 2188
Joined: 09:25, 22 October 2004

Re: I built a New Computer last night.

Postby MeNotU » 23:35, 16 September 2010

Careful with those extra hard drives m8, I have sometimes found slower speed drives hanging off the system can sometimes drag your super fast main drive down in certain instances.

Can't you run your old PC as well so you can keep the Yamaha going? It sucks to lose it.
MeNotU
 
Posts: 179
Joined: 13:12, 12 August 2010
Location: QLD, Australia

Re: I built a New Computer last night.

Postby madAhorn » 06:06, 17 September 2010

Yes I can. I am going to keep it under the same desk.

It would be relegated to just an outboard FX box at that point, however.
I could run some channels in and out of it to use the great reverb if I do not find an equivalent software one, for example.

I sure wish Yamaha would have allowed others to support the DSP 2416 after they let it go.

By the way the dual DSP 2416's with two AX-44 IO boxes cost me $2600.00 a decade ago. The P3 computer that they are in I think was about $5000.00.

My computer investment and software insvestment this week stands at about $1800.00 and rising. ;-) Come on tax refund.

I hope this entirely CPU based environment does what it is supposed to do.
It makes me nervous not having those 10 extra Yamaha DSP chips processing along with it.

My P4 Computer is my main internet computer...
The P3 had no more irq's to add any usb even ;-) and is Win 98se so cannot go online.
User avatar
madAhorn
 
Posts: 2188
Joined: 09:25, 22 October 2004

Re: I built a New Computer last night.

Postby madAhorn » 07:06, 17 September 2010

What a computer build...! Raid hard drive array on the bottom.
About 4 more hard drives here and there. Power cords, man!
Image

And the new one...
Huge and largely emty from no DSP Factory! :'-(
Image

Out side of Old Computer:
Image

Man, I wish things never got obsolete!
Of course, I could have used a larger case back then....
User avatar
madAhorn
 
Posts: 2188
Joined: 09:25, 22 October 2004

Re: I built a New Computer last night.

Postby MeNotU » 08:07, 17 September 2010

Lol nice pics, I think I saw servers with less than that in government offices not so long ago haha.

A lot of investment, looking at your cd burner reminded me that I thought I was flash when I bought one of the first on special order, something like 2/4 speed with SCSI card, it cost me 425UK quids. 1998/9 I think. Now they are $29 and no one wants one lol - that's obsolete for you.
MeNotU
 
Posts: 179
Joined: 13:12, 12 August 2010
Location: QLD, Australia

Re: I built a New Computer last night.

Postby madAhorn » 08:20, 17 September 2010

;-)

I am on Disk 9 of 12 installing Komplete 7 on the new computer....

This is going to be a late night again!!!
User avatar
madAhorn
 
Posts: 2188
Joined: 09:25, 22 October 2004

Re: I built a New Computer last night.

Postby PauloF » 09:16, 17 September 2010

Long night indeed MadAhorn ;-) it's already morning here LOL
l
User avatar
PauloF
 
Posts: 4079
Joined: 02:35, 16 January 2006
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: I built a New Computer last night.

Postby madAhorn » 09:33, 17 September 2010

Ok...All 12 disks are loaded....now the update program is running for another 1/2 hour of updates... :'-(

Oh well, I noticed that Reflektor comes in the package which sounds like a great answer to my reverb question!
Low CPU usage and Low latency it promises as well.

The demo sounds good!

http://www.native-instruments.com/#/en/products/produce...
User avatar
madAhorn
 
Posts: 2188
Joined: 09:25, 22 October 2004

Re: I built a New Computer last night.

Postby Sprockett » 20:14, 17 September 2010

Nice build, madAhorn. You gotta love those tiny SATA cables compared to those EIDE ribbons. So much easier to build and swap parts when you can get your hand into the case more than a few millimeters :)
Sprockett
 
Posts: 87
Joined: 07:39, 21 February 2009
Location: Vancouver BC, Canada

Re: I built a New Computer last night.

Postby madAhorn » 02:53, 20 September 2010

After some strange computer behavior (I think caused by trying to install some non Win 7 Drivers by acccident) things are going along pretty well with my new system.

The 6 core CPU barely breaks a sweat, not does the 8 gigs of DDR3 Ram. I have room for 8 more gigs later if I ever need it.

I have a slightly older program hard drive and a brand new Sata 3 Project drive.
I will soon get another Sata 3 for my programs, because that seems to be working the hardest right now.

I have no glitches at 128 samples running at about 3.4 latency with Kontakt.
I have run several tracks of instruments with no problem so far.

The only problem I have had is with some of the new piano samples.
Some of them will not allow me to play fast repeated notes no matter what the latecy setting. Some piano's are ok as are all of the other samples.

This might be a Kontakt limitation, or maybe I could get the fastest program drive to help...I don't know. The CPU and Memory meters are showing very low usage.
Even the HD meters in Kontakt show very low usage.
The windows meters for HD show a ton of activity for the program drive, but I do not know how to interpret it.

So, almost every thing is perfect.
Awesome Reverbs and FX in the Kontakt libraries!
A ton of instruments that I need!
I do have to add some Pop Brass and Sax libraries, but everything else seems to be represented very well.

By the way, the Fantom G pianos are just as good or better as these sound wise, just not as many velocity layers or Sympathetic Resonance.

The Scarbee EP's and even the stock EP's are AMAZING!


Thanks for listening...more reports to come.
User avatar
madAhorn
 
Posts: 2188
Joined: 09:25, 22 October 2004

Re: I built a New Computer last night.

Postby Grammar Wombat » 03:41, 20 September 2010

does the 8 gigs of DDR3 Ram


You are playing gigs with rams? They are too temperamental for me, but I have heard they make a great horn section.
Image
User avatar
Grammar Wombat
 
Posts: 432
Joined: 01:52, 23 July 2008
Location: Here

Re: I built a New Computer last night.

Postby madAhorn » 05:18, 20 September 2010

Good point....I need to re-think that!
User avatar
madAhorn
 
Posts: 2188
Joined: 09:25, 22 October 2004

Re: I built a New Computer last night.

Postby MeNotU » 08:29, 20 September 2010

Well I did say that older hard drives hanging off newer faster drives can cause problems, and it seems that is what you are saying here.

If the main drive is spinning data at 20,000 revs, it's just going to be confused trying to sync with files on the 5000 rev drive.

I feel your pain - I don't want it, I need asprin just reading your post :)
MeNotU
 
Posts: 179
Joined: 13:12, 12 August 2010
Location: QLD, Australia

Next

Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests