Roland PC-300 Win10 Drivers...

Everything else from Roland that doesn't fit elsewhere
SlickClick

Roland PC-300 Win10 Drivers...

Post by SlickClick »

Hi; new to the forums but had a break through last night (& want to Share..!) on some old equipment I had laying around that I fixed and used to work in the XP days... I started tinkering with an old version of FLStudio in Win10 and broke out the Roland PC-300 and tried to hook it up and like most others ran into Driver Issues...
I came across a few internet posts here and there on the subject; I came across one that looked very promising too... They took the UM-1 Driver and re-scripted it for the PC-300; but when I tried that file code it would not recognize the unit still...
(Source, Poster "DieMongo": http://gkmcd.blogspot.com/2011/12/rolan ... ows-7.html )

I've been an IT technician for over 20 years now and looked at the DeviceId of the unit and long story short the Code used in the Modified UM-1 Driver was looking for a device at USB address ending with "9"... But my PC-300 was reporting as everything exactly the same except the last digit was "8" (which I suppose Identifies the Hardware/Firmware Revision and/or DeviceId)...

As soon as I changed that Digit and Installed the Driver the Keyboard Power Light Turned Right On and FLStudio had it all Setup as an Input for use... Im even able to even turn the power switch on and off and the PC still detects it each time; so far...

How to Install the following Driver:
First you will need to RESTART YOUR PC IN ADVANCED MODE:
Click the Windows/Start Button and begin to type "Startup Options" and select the Counter-Clockwise Arrow Circle Icon; this will launch the Advanced Restart Menu...
You will see a menu pop up and you will select the "Restart" Button under the "Advanced Startup" Section;
NOW THIS WILL RESTART YOUR PC AND IF YOU TRY IT WHILE READING THIS REMEMBER THE FOLLOWING:
When the Blue Restart Screen Appears select the "TROUBLESHOOT" option.