Reference level and mix level SPL ????

Multitrack recorders, controllers, and other studio equipment
cminor

Reference level and mix level SPL ????

Post by cminor »

One possible client is requesting this parameters and I am a little over my head ..
I have some amator mixing experience but... maybe I can't understand right the requests:

Reference level: –20 dBFS

Peak level: –10 dBFS

Dialogue level (dialnorm): –27 dBFS

Mix level: 105 dB SPL

the only thing I understand is peak level... (the maximum level on that track should be -10 dB)
but the rest is too much =))
Dialog level I presume is the Voice Over level...
But reference and Mix level ?

Can some one please explain me what they are?
How can I measure and what to measure for those requests?

Many thanks
dbijoux

Re: Reference level and mix level SPL ????

Post by dbijoux »

Mixing your first DVD/TV project?

What your client wants to know is that your desk is calibrated to reference levels for film production. -20dbFS corresponds to 0VU at the outputs, typically metered at 85db/SPL in your listening position. This gives the mix level a maximum of 105db/SPL.

Bob Katz is a great resource for learning how to set all this up. If you are unfamiliar with the K-System, he developed that as a standard for mixing/mastering a variety of material. The nice part is once you have everything calibrated correctly you don't have to worry about the meters anymore. You can let your ears do all the work.

I'm not so familiar with Dialnorm(dialogue normalization?), or how it works exactly, but it's a standard for Dolby audio compression. Again the goal is to maintain a common reference point - specifically of the dialogue levels.

So to accomplish this, essentially you just need a somewhat precise SPL meter with a C-weighted scale. The rest of your gear should already be in place, waiting to be dialed in.
cminor

Post by cminor »

Many thanks...
Yes, it is about mixing DVD projects.
We only did betacam until now. :D