Psytrance And Darkpsy on SH-201

Forum for SH-201
demogorgon

Psytrance And Darkpsy on SH-201

Post by demogorgon »

Hey guys and girls

I'm looking at buying a sh 201 but i wanna know how dark can you make it.. Im looking at making darkpsy and psytrance.. So would this synth be a good idea.... I have Korg EMX 1 and its doing a good job but just looking 4 new sounds......
Jim Stout

Re: Psytrance And Darkpsy on SH-201

Post by Jim Stout »

You don't have to worry about it!

I've been making "Trance" since 1991 (industrial before that) way before all of these sub genre's came out. If you want to look it up Google Nebula 9 Jim Stout.

Roland invented every major sound in the dance music world. From drum machines to the Alpha Juno "Whoover Sound" (The sound is actually called "What's The?" in the Juno), To the TB-303.

The bottom Line is if you want to any kind of dance music you need a Roland keyboard.

just ask anybody.

The SH-201 Kicks butt! It has more options than the beloved JP-8000 which defined the trance sound of the late 90's and was $2700.00

I know, 10 years ago before I ever got a job at Roland I bought it.

So to be able to get the Roland sound for the price of the SH-201 is a no brainer.

Hope that helps
demogorgon

Post by demogorgon »

Thanks Dude..
Jim Stout

Post by Jim Stout »

No Problem!

Glad to help.

Now go get a 201!

:-)
totty

Post by totty »

Hi guys,

Im sure the 201 is a good choice. I have a JP8080, and I still love some of it's sounds.

I just wish Roland would develop a true JP8000 successor. The technology must be there now to produce something up against a Virus. But I guess the direction now is Vsynth GT!!
Jim Stout

Post by Jim Stout »

The JP-8000/8080 are still fantastic synthesizers! I still have mine!

The SH-201 has it's place, it's affordable, it's an audio interface and sounds fat!

It also has the ability to produce "Super-saw" waveforms on both oscillators, the Jp-8000/8080 can only do 1 "Super-saw" waveform per patch.