Imitating early 70s synths

Forum for SH-201
socprof

Imitating early 70s synths

Post by socprof »

Hello All,

This is my first time posting on this forum. I am a big fan of progressive rock, and I bought the SH-201 to recreate the sounds of classic analog synths used by progressive rock bands.

So here is my question: I read recently that part of the distinct sound of the Minimoog came from the instability of its oscillators. I assume the same was true of other early 70s synths. Is it possible to recreate this effect on the SH-201 by using the LFOs set to random to modify the pitch of each oscillator? To do a Minimoog imitation, this would require 3 oscillators each with a separate fluctuation pattern. Of course, this would require dual voice mode.
dbijoux

Re: Imitating early 70s synths

Post by dbijoux »

I think what they meant by distinct sound was a nice way of saying, "#@(*$ is out of tune again!"

It sounds like you are well on your way to making some choice noises. I'm not sure random LFO will be that effect you are looking for, tho, definitely give it a try. Random will cycle the different waveforms, which might be better for an evolving patch than mimicking wobble on an oscillator.

To emulate the minimoog, start with 24db filter and go from there. The classic sound comes from a combination of the oscilators used and moreso quality of filters, such is the case for all synths.

Enjoy and welcome.
Artemiy
Site Admin

Post by Artemiy »

It will be enough to detune the oscillators, and modulate the pitch of one of them with a slow random LFO (not S&H, random - they are different). Yes, like dbijoux said, you'll be better with a -24 dB/octave filter. With all this, just try mixing saw, square and pulse waveforms with different pitches (+/- 1/2/3 octaves).
socprof

Post by socprof »

I think what they meant by distinct sound was a nice way of saying, "#@(*$ is out of tune again!"