Sonic Cell for a guitarist

Forum for SonicCell
Crusty_Old_Rocker

Sonic Cell for a guitarist

Post by Crusty_Old_Rocker »

Hi everyone,

Just had to say how impressed I am with the Sonic Cell.

This is a very powerful tool. I am a guitarist who is right into guitar and amp modelling (a la Line 6) and needed a backing track player.

I was looking at a couple of options and decided on the Sonic Cell.

Man, did I get more than I bargained for? This thing was meant to be a glorified drum machine with some strings and horns thrown in for the band. I now have what will be a pivotal studio and live performance tool. I can even get it to trigger my guitar effects during a performance without having to tap dance on pedals.

Although it has COSM built into it, it's just too difficult to access when I have the POD X3 Live, Vetta II amp and Gearbox Plug-ins at my disposal but it's great to know it's there if ever I'm looking for something different.

Anyway, I just thought it worth mentioning how the Sonic Cell is not just for the synth aficionado.

Cheers,

Crusty
howreg

HI there

Post by howreg »

I recgnize you from Line 6 Forums - What an honour - I also Play a Variax and a Felxtone 3

- I also have a Fanthom X and now the New Sonic Cell. Nice to see you in here. I absolutely agree with you this thing is amazing and I got it yesterday.
nc

Re: Sonic Cell for a guitarist

Post by nc »

I agree Crusty. For years I've used a GR-30 to provide an "orchestra" for a church choir. I bought the SonicCell to add more realism and options. It triggers great and was a big hit during this years Christmas show.

One tidbit about the COSM amp sim. I hated the sound at first, but then realized that you actually have to change the speaker cabinet manually. Once I figured that out I was pretty well pleased. But, like you, I won't be giving up my VG-88 or Boss GT8. It is nice to know it's there though.
poppadaddy

SonicCell For Backing Tracks

Post by poppadaddy »