Controlling Roland SonicCell from a simple keyboard

Forum for SonicCell

Controlling Roland SonicCell from a simple keyboard

Postby pk692 » 21:03, 3 May 2010

Possibly a dumb question. I am considering buying a Roland SonicCell for a performance situation. I can "program" it ahead of time so that all I need to do in real time is switch between "performances". I currently have a Roland EP7ii that I would like to use as a simple controller. I am not a midi whiz, so I have what might be a simple question. I can easily transmit "program change" command from the keyboard to the sonic cell, providing the program change number is 35 or less. My question is, can I program the sonic cell so that, for instance, program change = 2 turns it into a xylophone sound, program change = 3 turns it into a split keyboard with harp and celesta, etc. Any help would be appreciated.
Edit/Delete Message
pk692
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 21:01, 3 May 2010


Re: Controlling Roland SonicCell from a simple keyboard

Postby javaj_ » 22:34, 3 May 2010

You would just need to save your favorite sounds in the user area- then you should be able to do program changes easily. I can't remember if the SC editor can function without the SC running (you may want to download and iinstall it and see if you can send a program change and see the result). I know it won't show any patches unless the SC is turned on.
javaj_
 
Posts: 881
Joined: 20:49, 7 January 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada

Re: Controlling Roland SonicCell from a simple keyboard

Postby pk692 » 01:43, 4 May 2010

Thanks for the suggestion. Between paying with the editor and reading the manual carefully, I have convinced myself that I can write a "performance" to any USER number from 1 to 32 and access it with a program change command. this was probably obvious to everyone else, but now I understand it. Thanks again for the help.
pk692
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 21:01, 3 May 2010

Re: Controlling Roland SonicCell from a simple keyboard

Postby piaknowguy » 18:36, 5 May 2010

Hey Java!

Can I get you to email me at piaknow@shaw.ca when you get this posting?

Thanks!
PiaKnowGuy
Film Score Demo
Image
PiaKnow
User avatar
piaknowguy
 
Posts: 2066
Joined: 22:29, 14 April 2004
Location: Canada

Re: Controlling Roland SonicCell from a simple keyboard

Postby pk692 » 06:17, 7 May 2010

I got a sonic cell, and found out that I had not figured this out, although with a little experimentation I learned what I needed to know. I needed to go into the system menu and change the performance Control Channel to the one my controller was transmitting. That allows me to select form the options in the selected bank using the buttons on the controller. Maybe that will help someone else who is new to MIDI/
pk692
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 21:01, 3 May 2010


Return to SonicCell

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest