SONAR LE -> Recording for begginers

Forum for RD-700GX, RD-700NX and RD-800
ttyczyns

SONAR LE -> Recording for begginers

Post by ttyczyns »

Hi,

could you please tell me what do I need to start to record my RD-700 GX by means of the USB cable and SONAR LE application. At the moment I connected my Piano to the computer via USB and then I choose the "midi only" project in the SONAR LE application. Now I can see some points (notes) when I push the "record" in the SONAR LE but I can't hear anything when I click "play".

Do I need any additional hardware or maybe a file with a piano wav or something else?

Please be patient, I am not experienced at all (in terms of that).

Regards
Tomek
dbijoux

Re: SONAR LE -> Recording for begginers

Post by dbijoux »

I think tjf_inc's previous post covered it step by step, maybe your Sonar or the tracks are not set to output to the RD.
ttyczyns

Post by ttyczyns »

Thank you for your answer.

I have read the previous post and (if I understand) I need the .ins file to set "play back" - does it mean my RD-700 will play a MIDI information which I have recorded?

If yes, it is not I would like to do :(, because in fact I have recorded only a MIDI information - not Roland soune/tone (piano).

I am wondering if it is any method to record a Roland sound not MIDI notes using USB (and than you know - wiring it to wav or mp3 file).

I have found that there is a Sound Font and than you need an additiona SB card and a Sound Font file (which 'recognize' recorded MIDI notes and replace it with it's tone colour)... In that case - first of all - you need a SB card, secondly you need to find a Sound Font file which might have worse quality piano.

Summing up: my question is - is it possible to record Roland tones/sound (piano) using only USB cable and SONAR LE application?

t
dbijoux

Post by dbijoux »

USB is only used for MIDI data.

Can you still record audio with Sonar LE and what you have?
- Probably.

Will it sound (as) good (as it could)?