Rd300sx--opinions on

Forum for RD-700GX, RD-700NX and RD-800
colonelkeys

Rd300sx--opinions on

Post by colonelkeys »

Newbie here! My wife and I are huge fans of the live sound and feel of the old rd500's--I know that dates us but we love them and own 3!-- but we are gigging more so the weight and key breakage are forcing us to a new board. I see the rd300sx are affordable but have never played or heard one and so must rely on the collective experience here to guide us. Really only looking for a great piano sound and good feel. Any thoughts. Would like to stay under a grand. Thanks.
kenchan

Re: Rd300sx--opinions on

Post by kenchan »

i didn't like the feel of the keybed. it feels NOTHING like the PHA2 or PHA3's the RD700/Vpiano/FantomG8 are known for. it's like a mushy soft heavier than synth action.

no comment on the sound as it wasn't hooked up while i visited the store. :)
colonelkeys

Post by colonelkeys »

I was afraid of that! The weight of the Rd's is something I have to reduce as my wife frequently has to carry the board herself to a gig. So am open to suggestions to the best board to get as we look at the weight/action/ piano sound equation--realizing that my $$ limit may have to go up. Thanks for any help anyone may want to offer!!
kenchan

Post by kenchan »

Not the best action but pretty lightweight and pretty good sounding is the nord piano. I suggest wait for the Piano2 to hit the stores this spring. They go $3k and made for the gigging musician. Original Piano goes $2.5K..about 40lbs. No where near the sound quality and realism of the RD700NX..but u get better electric pianos.
colonelkeys

Post by colonelkeys »

I've always been intrigued by the nord. What I am starting to suspect is that any light weight board is going to have a standard dampened synth action. Was hoping to hear different. My wife is strictly into piano but i enjoy organ and the other sounds so I may be a candidate for the nord but I think she will need a more realistic action.