RD700SX with Macbook Pro

Forum for RD-700GX, RD-700NX and RD-800
mariolv

RD700SX with Macbook Pro

Post by mariolv »

Hi - I am new to the world of Mac. Have had my RD for a while. I connected the two and installed the RD700-SX driver on my Mac. Went to Audio/Midi setup in utilities on my Mac and configured the midi based on instructions on Roland website (basically saw my RD piano, created 5 new devices, and dragged the 5 connectors - one to each of the 5 new devices).

So far so good. In Garageband, RD-700 shows up.

What I can't figure out: when I press a note it sounds ok through the Mac. So hear the grand piano sound on the MAC. However, each time I release a note, I get a chime-like sound through the speakers. Each time, AFTER I released a note. Apparently a MIDI event for note-off is creating this, but can't figure out how to turn that off.

I searched the internet and found that other people would have this happen as well, but couldn't find a solution. I am guessing it's somewhere within the MAC I would have to tell it not to generate a sound on the note-off event, but not sure where to start.

From what I read, and I haven't tried this: if you record, you will not hear those chimes. So they are not part of the recording, only of the live monitoring. But since I am planning on using this setup at a live venue, I can't have that.
Rodan

Re: RD700SX with Macbook Pro

Post by Rodan »

Hi, malolv.