700 GX-bad note in Expressive Grand program

Forum for RD-700GX, RD-700NX and RD-800
roland65

700 GX-bad note in Expressive Grand program

Post by roland65 »

I am a newbie...apologies if I am posting this incorrectly. I bought a used RD700GX a few months ago. I recently noticed that the G and Ab above middle C have a "chirp" in it. I call it a "chirp" because it sounds just like a cricket chirp. If I transpose up a step, the "chirp" is now on the A and Bb notes, which tells me it is not the keys itself but rather the Expressive Grand program. Also hear it in one of the other piano programs--but the rest of the programs (sounds) are uneffected. Any ideas what this could be and any remedy? Thanks in advance for your help!
howardS

Re: 700 GX-bad note in Expressive Grand program

Post by howardS »

Sounds like artifact noise in one of the samples themselves. I have the RD700NX which has what I think are very clean samples. You could perhaps get the SuperNatural upgrade kit for your GX which brings SuperNatural pianos to your GX. You could also try a firmware upgrade and see if that does anything although I doubt that would fix it.
roland65

Post by roland65 »

That's exactly what I have been considering HowardS. I wasn't sure if that would address it or not. But if it brings in the piano sounds from the NX, then it seems logical that the upgrade might be just the thing. Helps to know that someone else thinks this might work. Thanks for your thoughts!
howardS

Post by howardS »

I heard similar artifact noise on many if not all of the sample sets from the various manufactures. For Roland, I know it was there on the SRX11, the Fantom Pianos (X and G) and the 700 series up to the NX. They were on different notes but they were there. You may have trouble finding that kit though as I think it may have been discontinued. Let me know what you end up doing.
roland65

Post by roland65 »