Any real reason to go up to the G?

Forum for Fantom-G6/7/8
Arctica

Any real reason to go up to the G?

Post by Arctica »

I'm planning on picking up either the Fantom X or G in the next two months, and I'm trying to see if it's worthwhile to buy the G, even over the inevitable upcoming low price of the X. Any thoughts on this? I think I'd greatly miss not being able to use the SRX cards, and I can't see myself caring about sound editing enough to buy any of the ARX cards. I'd much prefer a large sound collection. Otherwise, the screen looks nice, but I'm not desperate for a huge one, and the faders might be handy - but you can only change so many parameters at once anyways :) Any ideas? I'm by no means a professional player, but I'm looking for something that'll keep me set for a long time...

There just doesn't seem like a huge set of new features on the G, that's all. But it's probably more future-proof...hmm... :S
Artemiy
Site Admin

Re: Any real reason to go up to the G?

Post by Artemiy »

The reasons I would upgrade are:

- 16 MFX processors instead of 3
- Really great large screen
- Lots of SRX waveforms already inside
- Multi-function pads
- More complex step LFO modulator in the synth
Arctica

Post by Arctica »

That's a pretty reasonable list, I guess. What do you mean by the multi-function pads, though? Couldn't they do a whole assortment of things on the X?
Artemiy
Site Admin

Post by Artemiy »

On the G they also serve as multi-mode buttons, for things like switching parts, tracks, patch tones, working with the arp and rhythm machine settings, etc. Only part of this was possible on the X.
dani.squire

Post by dani.squire »

Also remember about the mouse option. way better than using directional buttons and even better than korg's touch screen IMHO.

Also, you'll love to use all 8 faders at once as soon as we have a VK-like ARX! =)
V-CeeOh

Post by V-CeeOh »

here goes another ... ;-)