Fantom G Organizer Copying songs from one project to another

Forum for Fantom-G6/7/8

Fantom G Organizer Copying songs from one project to another

Postby ralphling » 04:43, 12 February 2015

Hi a Forum user by the handle parker.bobby, has developed a piece of software which is supposed to enable one to copy songs from one project to another via your PC. He has posted a video tutorial on You Tube.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_qSdHdd0pgQ

However, I can't get the Fantom G Organizer to do what it's supposed to do.

I have followed the instructions meticulously from the You Tube instruction video, however I have one or possibly two problems.

I successfully get the Fantom G Editor to do the "Export Studio Set + Patch" function. That all works fine and I added the word "Data" into the existing file name of the song - as seen on the video.

Then moving to the part of the process undertaken on the Organizer, I load my "...data.MID" file into the "Input File" field in the Copy Live/Studio Set window, I select my Output Project folder in the "Output Project Directory" field, then click the Copy Live/Studio Set button.

What happens next, appears to be the problem... or maybe part of the problem.

Whereas on the video, the software pulls up a "DOS" window behind and you see files being copied and renamed. On my set up, none of this happens; almost immediately (like half a second), the "Copy Complete Ok" button pops up. There is no apparent time being taken doing what it showed in the video - phrases or samples being copied or renamed.

When I then import the "...data.MID" file and the "song file" into my other Fantom project, I don't get my Studio set, any of the samples or even any of the original patches loading. The Song successfully re-appears in the Song screen in a multiple track format but it doesn't sound right because the studio set hasn't come across nor have any samples.

I am wondering whether I am possibly missing one step because in the video it quickly mentions "lets reset the mixer", however the video doesn't show what you actually do to reset the mixer. I'm not familiar with that function and I can't find that described in the Fantom G Manual, however I found the "Initialise" option under "Utility" in the Studio screen, which then gives me two options, one being "Default" and the other "Sound Control". I've tried doing both those to no avail, my mixer just stays with a very generic studio set of nearly all pianos - certainly not the set it's supposed to have imported across. Also, when I look in the song window, where on the original song I had sample phrases appearing in the Audio Tracks, there's nothing there at all and the song sounds completely munted.

Can anyone help? I have tried contacting parker.bobby by every means I can think of both inside and outside this forum to no avail.

The version of the software that I'm using is V2.1 the video depicts V2.0 I wonder whether a bug has accidentally been introduced into V2.1 so maybe if I could access a copy of V 2.0, that may solve my problems.

Any other suggestions gratefully welcomed.
ralphling
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 04:52, 10 March 2012
Location: Auckland, New Zealand


Re: Fantom G Organizer Copying songs from one project to ano

Postby timbilfed » 13:24, 12 February 2015

One does not understand why you need all this? There are other ways of working on the Fantom G.
timbilfed
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 07:07, 9 March 2011

Re: Fantom G Organizer Copying songs from one project to ano

Postby MrSteveVee » 11:09, 14 February 2015

I do not have the sotware so cannot help as such, however if you are not seeing the DOS box appearing could it be a permissions problem and the log on into windows that (i assume) you are using does not have permissions to create a DOS session? Try logging on as administrator and running the DOS CMD can you manualy open a DOS window?
MrSteveVee
 
Posts: 65
Joined: 18:19, 12 January 2014
Location: UK

Re: Fantom G Organizer Copying songs from one project to ano

Postby ralphling » 04:13, 23 February 2015

Hi. I'm definitely logged onto my machine as an administrator user. Would anything else be blocking this function?
ralphling
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 04:52, 10 March 2012
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Fantom G Organizer Copying songs from one project to ano

Postby ralphling » 04:15, 23 February 2015

Thanks Timbified. I was under the impression that it's an accepted fact that there's no practical way of copying songs from one project to another. Would be delighted if you can enlighten me :-
ralphling
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 04:52, 10 March 2012
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Fantom G Organizer Copying songs from one project to ano

Postby timbilfed » 13:31, 23 February 2015

Before giving advice, you explain to me why you copy a song from one project to another. What is the need?
timbilfed
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 07:07, 9 March 2011

Re: Fantom G Organizer Copying songs from one project to ano

Postby ralphling » 20:02, 23 February 2015

Thanks. One of my first reasons was that I created too many songs in one project which now takes a very long time indeed to load. Ongoing however, even if i had multiple projects with more reasonable numbers of songs in them, it would still be preferable to be able to create a project with a collection of songs for a specific gig rather than having to swap projects mid way through a gig, possibly several times, which takes an undesirable long time. In the environmentI I mix & match a different batch of songs from a larger collection.
ralphling
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 04:52, 10 March 2012
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Fantom G Organizer Copying songs from one project to ano

Postby timbilfed » 13:19, 24 February 2015

And you songs consist only of MIDI tracks or more audio tracks?
timbilfed
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 07:07, 9 March 2011

Re: Fantom G Organizer Copying songs from one project to ano

Postby ralphling » 18:38, 24 February 2015

Mostly midi but some with audio too.
ralphling
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 04:52, 10 March 2012
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Fantom G Organizer Copying songs from one project to ano

Postby ralphling » 09:54, 25 February 2015

Hey I wonder if it's possible to complete our conversation a little quicker by Skype. Let me know if you'd be agreeable and we can figure out a time. I am in New Zealand.
ralphling
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 04:52, 10 March 2012
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Fantom G Organizer Copying songs from one project to ano

Postby timbilfed » 14:06, 25 February 2015

There are 128 studio set, each of which contains all the settings for song.Studio set should be called as well as the song that does not to be confused. Way the easiest way to transfer songs from one project to another: save it in midi file format 1 and move from one project to another.A there simply combine the desired Studio set. Copy Studio set from one project to another editor Fantom G.Principle Fantom G is that you can create an infinite number of projects, and hence an infinite number of songs, studio sets, user patch, live sets, and etc. For example, you have completed a draft of 50 songs and 50, respectively, are involved studio set, is now making a copy of the project and delete all 50 songs, create another 50 new songs to them another 50 studio sets you will employ 100 studio sets, you can now remove one new song and from the first draft to return old. If song with audio tracks, you'll need to tinker and one audio track to transfer to another project I have this need not, I have one project -one song.I'm from Russia and English is bad .If my explanation is not clear, ask more.
timbilfed
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 07:07, 9 March 2011

Re: Fantom G Organizer Copying songs from one project to ano

Postby ralphling » 05:27, 26 February 2015

Hi again. It's really cool to be speaking to someone from Russia!
I think I get what you are saying, although where you say "tinker and one audio track to transfer - I'm a bit confused with that. Would you be happy to have another go at explaining that.
I guess what you're saying is that when you create the standard midi file - that doesn't contain any audio does it? So you then have to re-add the audio once you've got the file into the new project? Is that what you mean? I'd still be happy to talk over Skype if you have it.

Kind Regards
Ralph
ralphling
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 04:52, 10 March 2012
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: Fantom G Organizer Copying songs from one project to ano

Postby timbilfed » 13:44, 26 February 2015

The main thing to save the song in SMF format 1 and having the appropriate Studio Set, you can copy a song from one project to another. A song from the audio tracks have to copy audio tracks separately and to arrange for audio tracks. Audio tracks can be copied via the folder import. I do not speak English, so talk on Skype will not work.Always happy to help. Andrey. Kamchatka.
timbilfed
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 07:07, 9 March 2011

Re: Fantom G Organizer Copying songs from one project to ano

Postby Forten » 13:24, 23 September 2016

timbilfed wrote:The main thing to save the song in SMF format 1 and having the appropriate Studio Set, you can copy a song from one project to another. A song from the audio tracks have to copy audio tracks separately and to arrange for audio tracks. Audio tracks can be copied via the folder import. I do not speak English, so talk on Skype will not work.Always happy to help. Andrey. Kamchatka.


nice answer...
Forten
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 13:26, 9 September 2016


Return to Fantom-G

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest