Fantom bad motherboard?

Forum for Fantom-S/S88, Fantom-X6/7/8, Fantom-XR and Fantom-Xa

Fantom bad motherboard?

Postby hand solo » 15:05, 9 January 2010

i recently picked up a Fantom XA with a scratchy master volume pot.

at least one post on this forum mentions a similar problem and the possibility of a bad motherboard.

anybody have the models and/or serial number affected ?

i will probably replace the pot anyway because it is loose, but would like to know if there is the bigger problem.

i know the control pot and input jack (which is also loose) are available from Roland..but does anybody
have a parts number or cross-reference number to get from a place like DigiKey ?

broke musician just trying to save some money here people!

thanks.
hand solo
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 21:38, 10 November 2009


Re: Fantom bad motherboard?

Postby da-man » 21:11, 9 January 2010

I think the bad motherboards were on the Fantom X early boards.

Have you tried spraying compressed air and if that doesn't work try some electrical contact spray. Dust can cause that too.
da-man
 
Posts: 1163
Joined: 07:48, 9 October 2005
Location: Australia

Re: Fantom bad motherboard?

Postby Arjan » 15:15, 10 January 2010

i recently picked up a Fantom XA with a scratchy master volume pot.

at least one post on this forum mentions a similar problem and the possibility of a bad motherboard


I think you are mixing up information from different and unrelated posts. A noisy pot is a noisy post and if cleaning doesn't help it's probably best to replace it. I would contact Roland to obtain the original part, I believe their prices for replacement parts are not entirely unreasonable in most countries.
Arjan
 
Posts: 892
Joined: 16:30, 29 December 2003
Location: Netherlands


Return to Fantom-S and Fantom-X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: howardS and 2 guests