Fantom-XR Multisample Help please

Forum for Fantom-S/S88, Fantom-X6/7/8, Fantom-XR and Fantom-Xa

Fantom-XR Multisample Help please

Postby BassBob » 18:11, 14 April 2017

Hi, I'm trying find out what's the proper way to create a multisample, save it, and where to
find it when you power up after shutting down.
I created a multisample of 4 samples. Each sample had it's own note within the C5 octave.
I then saved it. The multisample that I created functioned the way I wanted it to. The
problem arose when I shut down and powered up. First, I can't find the multisample. Second
is, I see the individual samples under USAM 001, 003, 005, 007 and C4 is the only note which
properly trigger the samples. What steps am I missing. Help would be greatly appreciated.
BassBob
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 16:00, 20 March 2017


Re: Fantom-XR Multisample Help please

Postby gcoudert67 » 21:58, 14 April 2017

I have an X7 and an X8, not an XR but, to select a multisample within a patch, you have to select MSAM, not SAMP, which is for individual samples. I guess the XR works in a similar way.
gcoudert67
 
Posts: 157
Joined: 12:58, 19 August 2014
Location: Dunstable, UK

Re: Fantom-XR Multisample Help please

Postby BassBob » 00:31, 15 April 2017

Thanks gcoudert67, but MSAM does not appear on screen.
BassBob
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 16:00, 20 March 2017

Re: Fantom-XR Multisample Help please

Postby gcoudert67 » 11:13, 15 April 2017

BassBob wrote:Thanks gcoudert67, but MSAM does not appear on screen.


Edit: solution below.
gcoudert67
 
Posts: 157
Joined: 12:58, 19 August 2014
Location: Dunstable, UK

Re: Fantom-XR Multisample Help please

Postby gcoudert67 » 11:28, 15 April 2017

OK, assuming you have saved your multisample, create your patch in Patch Edit mode. When you're on the screen below ('Wave Group'), you can select INT, SAMP, MSAM or EXP - as detailed on page 54 of the manual - for each of the four 'tones' that make up a patch. MSAM is the one you want; you must then select your multisample from the box. Adjust any other parameter you want to and save the patch. Hope this helps!
Gilles

Image
gcoudert67
 
Posts: 157
Joined: 12:58, 19 August 2014
Location: Dunstable, UK

Re: Fantom-XR Multisample Help please

Postby gcoudert67 » 14:35, 15 April 2017

Having re-read your question, I will add the following re. the whole process:

1. Sample sounds or import samples. They will appear in the Sample list but won't be saved.
2. Edit them, making sure you enter their root notes- this is important when creating the multisample.
3. In the Sample List, 'mark' the samples for saving and save them using the Write button.
4. Mark the samples again and create a multisample.
6. Save the multisample.
7. Create a patch, select MSAM then your multisample as the sound source as explained above.
gcoudert67
 
Posts: 157
Joined: 12:58, 19 August 2014
Location: Dunstable, UK

Re: Fantom-XR Multisample Help please

Postby BassBob » 16:27, 15 April 2017

Thanks Gilles for taking the time to help me out. I'm going to give
it a try. Many thanks.
BassBob
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 16:00, 20 March 2017


Return to Fantom-S and Fantom-X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests