Changing Fanton XR Patches/Performances from Mainstage 3.3

Forum for Fantom-S/S88, Fantom-X6/7/8, Fantom-XR and Fantom-Xa
sax2themax

Changing Fanton XR Patches/Performances from Mainstage 3.3

Post by sax2themax »

Hey folks,

This is my first time to use this forum. I'm a fairly experienced Mac user, but not quite so experienced with MIDI. I'm using Mainstage 3.3 on El Capitan with my Akai EWI, using breath controller patches with ES2, Kontakt, Korg Legacy M1, and now my Roland Fantom XR as an external instrument. I'm having problems with Mainstage properly sending sysex commands to the Fantom. Here's the scenario:

The Fantom is connected to my Macbook Pro through a MOTU Audio Express. All works quite well, until I want to change banks. All my patches are in the User Bank, both from 1-128, and from 129-256. Additionally, I have Performances in the User Bank.

What works: I can easily select patches on the Fantom from Mainstage, as long as they are located in the first 128 slots of the User Bank, which is MSB 087, LSB 000. This works flawlessly using the standard MIDI Output screen in the channel strip inspector.

What doesn't work: When I try to access the patches in slots 129-256, (MSB 087, LSB 001) or any Performances it fails. I have tried using the standard method by selecting the MSB and LSB along with patch number from the inspector. I get a MIDI activity light on my interface, and also on the Fantom, but it doesn't switch patches.