Best synth for special need: Juno Stage?

Forum for JUNO STAGE
go2ldook

Best synth for special need: Juno Stage?

Post by go2ldook »

Wondering if anyone can help me choose the best Roland synth for my purposes. I am thinking Juno Stage. Here is what it needs to accomplish:

I am a guitarist, and currently I use a Roland PKA5 bass pedals footpedal board to trigger samples that I have assigned to it. That way I can play some synth with my feet for our 3 piece band. The samples are loaded into drum pads in my FL Studio sequencer on my computer. I would like to get away from using the computer, and adopt the same technique with a synthesizer. I would prefer to stay below the $1500 range.

Some key needs:
1) ability to have lots of samples...a gig or more available is good. I think I can do this with a USB key, but wonder if there are load time issues. This will be used live
2) I need to be able to create lots of pads AND I need to easily be able to migrate from one pad to the other WITH MY FEET. If I recall my early experience, the PKA5 allowed me to do this, but it was clunky...a 2 step process. I hacked around this by noting that FL Studio would let me move up or down between channels using up/down arrows on a keyboard, so I hacked a keyboard and make up/down push buttons that I could put on the PKA5...simple up/down migration between pads. Looking at the Stage manual, looks like you can buy an up/down control pedal. Wondering whether an up/down function would exist that could be assigned to function buttons on the PKA5.
3) I would also need to be able to put the different pads in the order I want easily. If the only way to acces them is by alphabetical order, that would be very hard in a live situation. Currently I can change order of the channels/pads in my sequencer based on our setlist, and then easily move down the list. Can you specify whatever order you want on the Stage?