master volume pedal

Forum for JUNO STAGE
francoran

master volume pedal

Post by francoran »

I am a beginner about the use of an expression pedal (EV5)and by now I just want it to control the master volume when I play. From the Menu System I assigned the control CC11: Expression to the pedal and it works fine when I play a performance or a single patch, but when I change performance or a patch the master volume jumps to the max level and I have to give a little kick to the pedal to reset the right value. Assigning CC07 to the pedal is even worst because the pedal resets at the same volume all the patches inside the performance.So I decided for the Expression mode, but I am not very happy with it, what if I forget to touch the pedal at any change of patch or performance in a live gig? I guess that many of you know what I am talking about.
My idea now is to try an analog pedal (one of those for guitarists) between the L/R output of JS and the mixer. In another 3d I read that David Sancious uses analog pedals to control the volume of his keyboards. What do you think about it? I don't think he plays anymore analog synths there must be another reason.
JunoJohn

Re: master volume pedal

Post by JunoJohn »

Set Patch Remain to ON. This prevent CC's from jumping in value.

I think you select Menu-->System-->Common-->Patch Remain to set it, but I don't have a Juno-Stage.
commando

Post by commando »

I struggled trying to make the EV-5 pedal work satisfactorily as a master volume pedal but got exactly the same symptoms that you are getting. It is unrelated to Patch Remain. Every time you change patches, performances or favourites, the volume shoots up to maximum, until you move the pedal by the slightest amount. The EV-5 is absolutely useless and unacceptable as a volume pedal. I complained to Roland via their shop in Eastbourne but got nowhere. They either don't understand how bad this fault is, don't care or sweep it under the carpet, like many other glitches.