Controlling JV-1080 with AX-7 Expression Bar

Forum for AX series synths and keytars and all things for those who love that "on the shoulder" look.
kevo_obsessor

Controlling JV-1080 with AX-7 Expression Bar

Post by kevo_obsessor »

Hello...I'm a bit of a newb...so please don't skewer me if I ask something ignorant!

We have a JV-1080 (just replaced a MKS-70) and JD-990. We control them both via the Roland AX-7 Keytar. We often use the expression bar on the AX-7 to have fun with the sounds.

We often have the JD-990 controlled by the "upper" channel (set to midi channel 1) on the AX-7 and the JV-1080 on the "lower" channel (set to midi channel 2). And often times, we play both the upper and lower channel at the same time to layer the two synths together in interesting and fun ways.

Back when we were on the MKS-70/JD-990 combo, the expression bar worked great. However, after moving from the MKS-70 to the JV-1080, the way that the JV-1080 plays the expression commands sent from the AX-7 isn't what we want at all...It sounds like a vary fast passed "wah" sound that is kind of grating to the ears.

Now, after completing the back story, here comes the question (thanks for hanging in there!)...

Is there a way to either reduce the speed of the modulation (i think that's what is causing it, but my newb-ness might be calling it by the wrong name) on the JV-1080 when we use the expression bar? I'm using a Performance on the JV-1080 to layer a few patches together. So, I'm not sure if I need to go to the individual patches or the performance to control it. It would be nice if I could control it from the performance level. But I can't seem to figure out what I need to modify...

OR