A silly question

Forum for SH-01 GAIA
phantrongvu

A silly question

Post by phantrongvu »

I'm very new to Synth stuff but is it possible to use SH-01 to create 'acoustic' sound like guitar, piano, sax?

thanks
PauloF

Re: A silly question

Post by PauloF »

A VA (Virtual Analogue) synth is not suitable for simulating that kind of instruments. A ROMpler (like the Fantoms) is much more suitable, although with a VA you can create sounds that are very difficult to obtain with a ROMpler.
Each one has his own use. All depends on what do you really need.
phantrongvu

Post by phantrongvu »

Thanks for your response. So I guess Virtual Analogue is mainly for Electro music, is it right?
PauloF

Post by PauloF »

Mainly yes, but I use my VA for symphonic type sounds too - Strings and PADs
Lead synths and Arps is my main use of a VA (in my case the V-synth XT).
I was considering the SH-01 for better/faster action when tweaking live.
The SH-01 is also very good to learn basic synthesis.

EDITED: But very limited in other aspects (I just learned from VC'S Gaia Review)
phantrongvu

Post by phantrongvu »

Thanks for quick response. As far as I know, SH-01 can just store up to 64 user patches, is it right? With 64 preset patches, SH-01 can only hold up to 128 patches?
V-CeeOh

Post by V-CeeOh »

...and just another 64 on USB memory.
Ricoche

Post by Ricoche »

With regards to acoustic sounding instruments, I think it's definitely possible to create "alternate" acoustic sounding instruments if your intention is not to be realistic. For example, back in the 80's there were lots of songs made with synth style acoustic instruments that helped to create a unique sound for bands. You could make your own "spin" on a rhodes sound and if you're lucky people may one day try to emulate that. On the other hand, if you're looking for the more realistic rhodes sound, you most likely will not get it on the SH-01 of course.