Convert SRX sounds?

Talk about anything here
vpro

Convert SRX sounds?

Post by vpro »

I am new. I am a world fusion recording artist in Canada, I had to sell my Roland Fantom a few years ago to afford to travel with my husband for honeymoon, anyways long story short, I miss the Fantom very much and our marriage is fruitful. I have three SRX sound cards but nothing to use them with. Has anyone out there converted SRX sounds to usable formats for say Garage Band so I may use it with a keyboard controller attached to my Mac via USB???? Does Roland sell sounds from SRX sound collections on DVD? I have the World and Platinum Trax SRX upgrade cards. I really want to use those awesome sounds again *sigh* please help????

Thanks in advanced.
Andy Keys

Re: Convert SRX sounds?

Post by Andy Keys »

Hello and welcome!

If you want to keep your SRX boards and their sounds I would look for a secondhand module that you can put them into.

Here's a link to the SRX board compatibility liston the Roland US site.

Regards
Andy
vpro

Post by vpro »

Thank you I appreciate this info I have been on top of this but am very curious if there have been other developments with regards to extracting the sounds and creating more universal use for them in this age of vast computer music making.
vpro

Post by vpro »

I have come across these so called Roland Refills for Reason and other programs to utilize Roland sounds. Basically you get the sounds and not the boards themselves - which is really innovative and accessible so everyone can just plug and play via USB keyboard controllers !!!
howardS

Post by howardS »

Is legal for someone other than Roland to sell Roland sounds from these SRX boards.
SoundworldA.D.

Post by SoundworldA.D. »

Is it legal for someone other than Roland to sell Roland sounds from these SRX boards?
In a word, no. Here is the verbiage from an SRX manual.