Complete newbie looking for opinions on keyboard selection

Talk about anything here
bjavor

Complete newbie looking for opinions on keyboard selection

Post by bjavor »

Hello everyone,

I know these type of threads must be a dime a dozen. But as probably everyone else, I have my own unique perspective and I'm trying to come to a decision. So I would nonetheless truely appreciate to hear peoples opinions about it.

Let me start with the fact that I'm in my mid-forties and never touched a musical instrument before. I can't sing to save my life, and always thought that the kind of magic required to play an instrument (the ability to recognise notes by ear, perfect timing etc.) one needs to be either born with or one needs to start practicing them at a very early age. Which I haven't.

I still have no evidence against that theory, however recent discussions I had with friends and colleagues have piqued my interest a little and I actually started considering to give learning music a try afterall.

To be quite frank the tipping point was probably seening a basic Roland V-Drum set, which looked like a tonne of fun to play. Well, perhaps I might actually get one one day, however for now I immediately moved on to thinking that while drums might be a lot of fun, I should probably start at the beginnig and learn some of the basics of music theory first. Notes, chords, scales, timings etc. And the classical and probably most versatile tool for that is a piano...

Now, I do not really want to set up a full upright piano so I started to look into stage pianos. The Roland RD-800 seems to be a very well reviewed strong contender in that field. However, while looking at reviews and YouTube videos I ineviatably also came across the FA-06/08 workstations, which seem to be quite impressive instruments in their own right. I _do_ understand that a stage piano and a workstation are two completely different things for different purposes. But it still made me think: