PK-5A bass pedals

Talk about anything here
cwtaylor1

PK-5A bass pedals

Post by cwtaylor1 »

Hi,

I am really hoping that someone a lot smarter than me can help with this.

I am a guitarist who uses a set of PK-5A bass pedals to control a Waldorf Streichfett strings synth to generate basic drones (really, really simple). My problem is that I currently have to tap dance on the PK-5A between songs to change both the patches on the Waldorf and also the octave on the PK-5A. I control my other MIDI gear with my Fractal Axe FXiii and would like to do the same with the PK-5A which has a MIDI in, so I assume it must be possible (particularly given how simple the setup is), but I cannot discover how.

Can anyone help please.

Thanks

Chris
harmonizer

Re: PK-5A bass pedals

Post by harmonizer »

Like you, I also use a PK-5A to create additional instrument noises (as opposed to playing low bass notes). Playing live gigs in a covers band, I have no time between songs to change settings on the PK-5A. So I use settings on my Roland synth to do this: in addition to choosing what patches (instruments) I want to make noises for, I set up the octave shifts, any needed half-step pitch shifts, and any custom splits. It is difficult to press a "black key" with my feet while standing and playing the sax, so I often to shift certain notes a half step up or down so that I almost always only have to press a "white key" with my foot. I have set up my synth so that in some cases more than one note gets played when I press one key on my PK-5A. I don't think controls on my PK-5A (octave up, octave down) are sufficient to do what I need, even if I had the time to use them during a live gig.