Jupiter-80, a Classic is born?

Forum for JUPITER-80
jobo

Jupiter-80, a Classic is born?

Post by jobo »

Hi folks,

As a long time reader, first time poster, and part time keyboard player since 1975, I wanted to express my opinion in light of all the negativity I’ve read in this and other forums concerning the Jupiter-80. First, I've been using Roland equipment for 15 years and I’m pretty happy overall with the sounds of their products. I own or have owned: Fender Rhodes, Sequential Circuits Pro One, Moog Voyager, Korg Poly 800, Triton TR, Motif rack XS, Juno Stage, etc. Although it may appear that I’m an equipment whore, I attempt to get good bang for the buck in a reliable, easy to set up rig.

I’m currently using a Fantom X7, VK-8M Organ Module, and a Gaia SH-01 (yes I know, I sound like a living Roland commercial). I primarily play piano, EP, organ, and synthesizer sounds in several rock bands. I didn’t buy a Fantom G because, like a lot of other players, I didn’t see enough difference between the X and the G to justify a purchase. I have never used arpeggiators or sequencers. I believe that using “performances” that are not coming from my fingers is a misrepresentation.

Now to the Jupiter-80. Roland owns the name Jupiter. They can do whatever they want with it. And, who really cares what they call it? It’s all about the sounds you can use and if it allows you to be expressive in your art. Roland could have called it the Steaming Excrement Pile and painted it pink. I’d still buy it if it did what I wanted and was affordable. Oh, and I know that a lot of folks think it’s overpriced, but wake up peoples. You’re in a time tunnel. The yen was worth $1.00 in 2008. Today, it’s worth $1.25. That means our dollar buys 20% less than it did in 2008. So, if the Jupiter-80 sells for $3500, that’s $2800 in 2008 dollars.