If you own a Jupiter-80 & can't play...

Forum for JUPITER-80
thunderkyss

If you own a Jupiter-80 & can't play...

Post by thunderkyss »

What are you doing to learn how to play?

I'm asking, because I own a Fantom-X8, a Fantom-S, a VK-7, an Axiom 49 & XV-5050 & I can't play.

I started playing guitar (which I can play, bass as well) a while back. I figured I'd get proficient enough on the keys out of necessity. I hear a little melody in my head, pick it out on the keyboard, quantize & edit the midi as needed. Or I'll learn a chord progression well enough, play it, quantize/edit... good enough.

Well, I got my first keyboard (an EPS-16+ that I forgot to add to my list) over 10 years ago & honestly... I'm still not very good. Like I said, I can play, but my timing's off, I'm very sloppy & it's not like I know what I'm doing. It takes me a while to finger a chord, I've got to learn the chords dang near every time, I have to practice my changes every time, before I'm proficient enough to get a part down.

Tell me to play a particular chord on the guitar, I can do it... no thinking needed. Ask me to play this scale, or that scale... I got it. Start playing something, I can jump in & fake it... on guitar, but not on piano or synth, or whatever you want to call it.

Anybody else like me? or started like me? How do you get from here to decent?
howardS

Re: If you own a Jupiter-80 & can't play...

Post by howardS »

If you can I would grab some lessons and, of course, lot's of practice...oh, so much. You know how to play guitar and bass so you have some musicality. Try and translate as much as you can from those instruments and just keep trying. I turned 53 today, thunderkyss, and still take lessons!

Also, the metronome is your friend. I always use it when I practice and it cleans up your timing. You might have awesome timing on the guitar and bass but this requires different muscles so get that metronome on. :)
flyingace

Post by flyingace »