Is Jupiter-80 on the way out?

Forum for JUPITER-80
ulricr

Is Jupiter-80 on the way out?

Post by ulricr »

Hi,

Regardless of the internet community rejecting it due to not being analog, I've been considering getting a JP-80 for home use as a main keyboard. I like the idea of a 76 keys keyboard vs a 61 or 88 keys, the dedicated preset and split buttons, and although I have no first-hand experience with it, I also like the idea of the the superNatural engine for emulating instruments. I'm a bit disappointed that it seems only 4 part multi-timbral, but I could live wit it. I'm actually not all that interested in an analog synth, real or emulated.

However, it is currently out-of-stock at the music stores around here in Canada, it's not really recent and kind of buried on the Roland web site now. So I'm wondering, is it on the way out? There was nothing announced at NAMM to replace it.

Is it still a good idea to buy a new JP-80 or is something a better choice nowdays. Would you warn against getting a JP-80? It's listed at 2799$ CAD around here.
marctronixx

no

Post by marctronixx »

if you wait for the latest and greatest, you will always be waiting...

it amazes me...i frequent many forums for different things (cars, mobile phones/tablets, music gear) and there is usually a new member or someone who rarely posts (has a low post count) but will ask "hey should i get ______ or wait...?"

the j80 is a beautiful piece of kit. i paid full price for it and i wouild pay full price for it again.

your question has been asked many times on this forum. as other people chime in, some will say its great, others will say it lacks this or that...

bottom line is what do YOU need from a synth? if the j80 provides the features YOU want, then screw what the "internet" says or doesn't say.

is the j80 on its way out? the machine is a BEAST! its used on lots of tours and productions.
ulricr

Re: no

Post by ulricr »