Need help - Trying to recreate Van Halen's "JUMP" tone

Forum for JUPITER-80
RolandJupe80

Need help - Trying to recreate Van Halen's "JUMP" tone

Post by RolandJupe80 »

I have had my Jupiter 80 (actual hardware, not a VST or emulation) for about a week. I am a novice and really am trying to recreate the tone from Van Halen's Jump song.

Here is an example of the sound: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VixOXQMlCmU

I have watched a handful of videos that say to use a dual layer tone, sawblades, etc. I cannot get anywhere near this sound! There are no patches that I can find. Can someone literally step by step show me how to recreate this sound? I spent 4 hour combining tutorials to get the sound and I always end up no where near the sound. Because I am a novice, if you just say "Use sawblade and brass tones" and use technical terminology I may not understand :( Sorry for bad english.

Thank you so much!!
LA Keys

Re: Need help - Trying to recreate Van Halen's "JUMP" tone

Post by LA Keys »

If you download the "Analog synth collection" from Roland axial website, there's a registration named "Jumper" in the collection. This is registration# 20, Bank 01 C-4.

If I remember correctly this is pretty close to what you want.

LA
RolandJupe80

Post by RolandJupe80 »

LA Keys wrote:If you download the "Analog synth collection" from Roland axial website, there's a registration named "Jumper" in the collection. This is registration# 20, Bank 01 C-4.

If I remember correctly this is pretty close to what you want.

LA

Thank you for the suggestion. I loaded it and unfortunately it does not sound anything like it :( Are there settings/tweaking necessary? It seems very difficult to make this sound :(
raymond

Post by raymond »

It may be that you will not be able to accurately reproduce the sound, no matter how much sound design talent you have.

The original Jump patch was played with an Oberheim OB-Xa. Oberheim vintage synths sound quite "forward" and bold.