A Keyboard amp of a Fantom?

Forum for gear from other manufacturers
dougdixon

A Keyboard amp of a Fantom?

Post by dougdixon »

Would anyone be able to advise me on a good amp to us with my fantomX and other keyboards. I've been using a Peavey KB100 for the last 10 years and have been happy with how it performes, but it is getting on a bit and to be frank it is a bit heavy and bulky. I was wanting to down size but working in a band need the output. I've got around £150 to spend and have seen some models on the internet and wondered what people thought of them. The models where:
Carlsbro Colt85
Laney AH100
Hartke KM60
If anyone are using one of these amps in this way please let me know what you think or if you have any other suggestions I would like to here them.
Deuce

Re: A Keyboard amp of a Fantom?

Post by Deuce »

Might be at or just above the top end of your price range, but I have a Roland KC-150 that I really like. Before that I was on a Peavey KB 300 (great sound but beyond bulkey, and I put it on wheels). The KC-150 is a 60 watt unit that has never left me wanting for volume with the bands I play in. Very solid build, and has enough inputs to handle both keys and still have room for input from my POD for guitar.

I'm not sure how well the lower priced (and smaller) KC-60 would do. It's 40 watts and a 10" speaker (the 150 has a 12"). I guess it depends on teh volume you need. I use my amp mostly as a reference - use the direct out to the board for most of the house volume, so a smaller amp works well.

I did look into the Behringer keyboard amps as well, but they seemed a little less solid, with cheaper knobs and switches. With playing 1-3 gigs a week, I needed something that would travel well and keep playing.

Hope this helps some. I really do think that the Rolands are worth spending a little more on.
dougdixon

Post by dougdixon »