Using the A-800 PRO to control other MIDI keyboards

Forum for gear from other manufacturers
rangerrick57

Using the A-800 PRO to control other MIDI keyboards

Post by rangerrick57 »

Hello all,

While I've used MIDI to combine sounds from two or more keyboards and also for recording, I am a complete newbie to using a MIDI controller to control OTHER keyboards (in addition to a sound module). My live setup for any gig I've had up til now has never required more than 2 keyboards and I just select what patches I need on each keyboard before each song. However, I will be going on the road with a show that will require me to automate selection of the patches I need prior to starting each song. I know this is possible but no clue how to do it. I'll be using a 4 keyboard setup (see below), one being an A-800PRO (not purchased yet) that I hope to use to accomplish this. This may be old school for many of you but a totally new thing for me. If the controller cannot do this, another option I'm thinking would be to do it from a laptop and in that case I need advice as well. Thanks for your help!!!

My setup will be:

Roland RD-800 (for pianos and e-pianos only)
Yamaha MOXF6 (for synths, horns and strings)
Roland V-Combo VR-769 with Motivator (for B3 and other organs)
Roland A800-PRO Controller with Integra-7 sound module (for synths, strings, effects)
PauloF

Re: Using the A-800 PRO to control other MIDI keyboards

Post by PauloF »

rangerrick57 wrote:Hello all,