Just got a Jp8000 and having trouble with MIDI side of it

Forum for JP-8000/8080 synthesizers from 1990's
TechnoTranceRM

Just got a Jp8000 and having trouble with MIDI side of it

Post by TechnoTranceRM »

Hello, a few months ago i came on here asking about what kind of synth i should get to make some Trance and Progressive music and quite a few people suggested the Jp8000. I bought one and played around with it for awhile and then let it sit for 3 or 4 months. I recently got a MIDI to USB cable and plugged it into my Mac Computer because I found a site that sells proffesional sounding Trance Packs. Im not sure how to get the Sound Pack i just bought onto my Synth. My keyboard didn't come with software so im guessing i might have to download a free program. Can anyone help me, im a real beginner with Synths if you can't tell.
Arjan

Re: Just got a Jp8000 and having trouble with MIDI side of i

Post by Arjan »

What format are these 'trance packs' in? You're sure they are meant to be used on the JP-8000? They are not VST plug-ins or sample libraries or something like that? Do you have a link to the website (actual page please) where you got them?

If these really are patches that are meant for use on the JP-8000 they may either be in 'JP-8000' librarian format or they could be in .MID format (a MIDI file containing SysEx MIDI data that will transfer the patches/performances to your JP-8000).

You can find the JP-8000 librarian here:

http://www.jarrelook.co.uk/DownloadsPage/Downloads.html

To play a .MID file you can use any old sequencer that will play .MID file to your PC's MIDI OUT and then into the JP-8000.
TechnoTranceRM

Post by TechnoTranceRM »

I just bought a soundpack on this website:
[url]http://www.rb2k1.com/sounddesign.htm/url]