Integra 7 and SPDif

Forum for Integra 7

Integra 7 and SPDif

Postby husker » 03:40, 7 May 2017

Considering purchasing an Integra 7, but would need to use the SPDif output. I have a Focusrite 18i20 2nd Gen as my interface. Would be interested in hearing any thoughts on those that use the SPDif output. Work smoothly?
husker
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 03:52, 16 February 2017


Re: Integra 7 and SPDif

Postby bluesplayer » 21:38, 10 May 2017

I know you are looking for a S/PDIF user, I don't use the S/PDIF out (or in on of my gear) but a few quick thoughts

I inferred (from how you wrote it) that you think you have to use the digital (S/PDIF) outs to feed your Focusrite 18i20? If so that is incorrect you can use or not use the SPDIF. However, if you mean you WANT TO USE the I7 digital out's - yes that would be "better" from a noise figure basis.

However, with ONLY the S/PDIF out you only get the stereo MIX (MAINS left and right). So if you want a little more flex you can use the S/PDIF AND the analog outs into the Focusrite

Reason I don't use S/PDIF is becasue I have lot of gear and there is no "multiple input S/PDIF 'mixer' " or audio interfaces. That's the one trouble with sound generators (synths and rack gear) that have digital outs if you only have ONE such piece of gear, fine you can stay in the digital domain without having to connect/ reconnect cables/fiber.

if you have a dozen, or only a few, such units it's virtually impossible to use them all at same time and keep all outputs from these units and ALL inputs to the PC in the digital domain. So digital outs are not a selling point for me - unless it has a multi-channel audio FW, USB, Ethernet, etc. (e.g. Yama Montage) interface.
bluesplayer
 
Posts: 106
Joined: 00:40, 4 October 2004
Location: Rio Rancho NM

Re: Integra 7 and SPDif

Postby husker » 14:24, 11 May 2017

I wasn't aware of the stereo limitation, thank you.

I will "have" to use the SPDif, as all my analog inputs of the 18i20 are used (I have an FA-08, two Moogs, and a Nord A1R, and soon a Prophet 12 that use up the 8 analog inputs available).

I'm space limited, so the Integra would actually be the last piece of gear I could add.
husker
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 03:52, 16 February 2017

Re: Integra 7 and SPDif

Postby bluesplayer » 21:53, 11 May 2017

The S/PDIF should work just fine.

BTW the I7 putting the mains left/right onto the S/PDIF out (usually the default stereo mix out, unless on the i7 you edit what audio is or is not put on the I7 A-mix [Mains L&R] ) is how ALL my gear, that has S/PDIF does it: because that is a S/PDIF limit not an i7, or generally Roland, Alesis, Korg, Yamaha, ... limit.

Consumer S/PDIF (everything you probably own or will own) only supports two channels.

good luck
bluesplayer
 
Posts: 106
Joined: 00:40, 4 October 2004
Location: Rio Rancho NM

Re: Integra 7 and SPDif

Postby JunoJohn » 02:28, 12 May 2017

blues player wrote:…there is no "multiple input S/PDIF 'mixer' " or audio interfaces…

Roland M-1000

Discontinued, but you can find a used one if you are patient.
JunoJohn
 
Posts: 792
Joined: 08:29, 24 February 2008
Location: Washington DC

Re: Integra 7 and SPDif

Postby bluesplayer » 03:04, 13 May 2017

Yep, M-1000 (4 S/PDIF's) - as noted no longer made.

Or tc Electronic Digital Konnekt x32 (8 S/PDIF and 4 toslinks ins - and some other features) - also no longer produced - if you find one be aware that it is a FW (IEEE 1394) device so going forward into Win 10 might be an issue for drivers (it has Win 7 drivers as of fall 2016) - Mac OS is also supported;

Or Zsys boxes for multi-channel S/PDIF/TOSLINK/AES if you have $$$

I no longer even try try to stay 100% digital until it's all inside the "box" and even then I sometimes come back out and re-route back in (rack FX, some really old school analog stompers, etc.)
bluesplayer
 
Posts: 106
Joined: 00:40, 4 October 2004
Location: Rio Rancho NM

Re: Integra 7 and SPDif

Postby Flugelmaster » 02:21, 21 May 2017

I have two Integra-7s. Both work fine with SP/DIF into a Focusrite 18i20, one first generation and the other 2nd generation.

Several years ago when I first got a Roland Fantom XR (predecessor of the Integra-7 I have now), I experimented with TRS cables versus SP/DIF and concluded the SP/DIF connection was crisper and cleaner sounding. I have only used that connection since.

I don't follow the comment about using both connections into the Focusrite; the MixControl software has a channel for SP/DIF and I don't see what I'm missing. I just have to set the panning for left and right in the mixer.
Flugelmaster
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 22:24, 14 April 2014

Re: Integra 7 and SPDif

Postby husker » 03:21, 21 May 2017

Thanks Flugel! Makes me feel a bit better.
husker
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 03:52, 16 February 2017

Re: Integra 7 and SPDif

Postby bluesplayer » 00:55, 23 May 2017

Flugelmaster wrote:...
I don't follow the comment about using both connections into the Focusrite; the MixControl software has a channel for SP/DIF and I don't see what I'm missing. I just have to set the panning for left and right in the mixer.



EDIT EDIT EDIT===============

My mistake
I forgot we were talking about INTEGRA 7 ( I have that as well as XV-5080's, and Fantom XR) so yes go S/PDIF! Since my hot air discussion below assumes more than two analog outs (like a Fantom XR or a XV-5080) and assuming you ARE NOT doing 5.1 since those channels are NOT on the S/PDIF outs.

EDIT EDIT EDIT==============



The point, Flugelmaster, was that with S/PDIF you ONLY get two channels at a time; if that’s all you need great, or if all you have a is a 2 or 4 channel PC audio card than you couldn't use but two or four total inputs respectively, at a time anyway.

BUT using XR's ANALOG you COULD use ALL four possible XR outs (or two digital via S/PDIF the A-mix and two analog the B mix)

SO in an Fantom XR performance you could put, say, six (or two or eleven or pick a number of XR parts) instruments out “in stereo." and yes you can then hard pan left and right to have some independent control of the sound (assuming inside the XR you did all the requisite part set up with some soudns only left and some sounds only right) with one MFX and put that on S/PDIF (or the A-MIX analogs) BUT then you can ALSO have two other mono parts/instruments each with a SEPARATE MFX (since in performance mode you have 3 MFX’s ) or completely “dry” (un-MFX’ed), or a different stereo pair with a completely different MFX etc.


80% of the time I only use the “stereo” outs on most of my stuff for DAW recording. But there are many times I want finer control; i.e., separation onto different DAW tracks (some already MFX’ed by XR but usually dry). I don’t always want it all “mixed” together in just two channels when I record it.

and being lazy I don’t want to have to record one “batch” of instruments on tracks N and N+1 and then go back and rerun the sequence again to get the others onto separate tracks N+2 and N+3 in the DAW.

This REALLY comes into play my XV-5080's with their eight independent outputs (yes just analog since I don't have an R-BUS PC board anymore) and the only other option for digital, besides R-BUS, on the XV-5080’s are its S/PDIF's which, again, are ONLY two channels (the A MIX) just like Fantom XR.

My Montage with its 16 stereo channels is a different animal – it has 32 total audio channels and it is already all digital audio since it’s over USB. It would be a shame to lump those 16 STEREO pairs (32 audio channels) into just one stereo PAIR (S/PDIF out) for DAW recording.
bluesplayer
 
Posts: 106
Joined: 00:40, 4 October 2004
Location: Rio Rancho NM

Re: Integra 7 and SPDif

Postby PauloF » 01:16, 11 October 2017

Flugelmaster wrote:I have two Integra-7s. Both work fine with SP/DIF into a Focusrite 18i20, one first generation and the other 2nd generation.

Several years ago when I first got a Roland Fantom XR (predecessor of the Integra-7 I have now), I experimented with TRS cables versus SP/DIF and concluded the SP/DIF connection was crisper and cleaner sounding. I have only used that connection since.

I don't follow the comment about using both connections into the Focusrite; the MixControl software has a channel for SP/DIF and I don't see what I'm missing. I just have to set the panning for left and right in the mixer.


I used to have a Focusrite 18i8 and the Integra SP/DIF connected to it, and the sound and stability was pristine
Unfortunately I had to sell the focusrite, and I miss the Digital Audio "quietness"
User avatar
PauloF
 
Posts: 4098
Joined: 02:35, 16 January 2006
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: Integra 7 and SPDif

Postby Emmerson » 16:04, 17 October 2017

I take the SPDIF out of the Integra straight into my EDIROL UA1010 Octacapture without any problems.
Emmerson
 
Posts: 64
Joined: 21:57, 13 August 2014

Re: Integra 7 and SPDif

Postby Happy » 10:32, 24 November 2017

AFAIK you will be forced and limited to 44.1K using SPDIF , so you can't use 44 or higher for the USB interface as well for the channels extended with ADAT.
Happy
 
Posts: 118
Joined: 14:55, 7 April 2014


Return to Integra 7

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests