s1-s2 switchs

Forum for Roland FA-06/08
Firebass

s1-s2 switchs

Post by Firebass »

With all the different ways to setup the S1 and S2 switch's, I was wondering if some of you pro's could suggest what might be some the more common uses for them? Myself, I normally run 3 studio sets in which I originally initialized all settings then I added different instruments tone and effects and so on to each channel. Its my main setup for for use in a classic rock band. So far all I've used is the S1 rotary speaker(modulation) for Hammond stuff. I bet I'm missing something..

Thanks in advance.
stevel

Re: s1-s2 switchs

Post by stevel »

I'm not really a pro but my biggest complaint about the FA is that you can't turn the MFX switch on and off (without being on the screen and pressing the button).

This is CRITICAL for live playing IMHO - if you want play an Electric Piano with Tremolo on it and turn the Tremolo on and off, or an Organ with Rotary on and off, or any of the 5 million lead synths with a delay on it and you don't always want the delay...

S1 and S2 can be assigned to at least turn the "switch" off in any effect that has it (like the Ep Amp Sim-Trem has a Tremolo Switch) or worst case, set the wet/dry mix to 100% dry (which would work for delays, reverbs, etc.) or some have a "depth" parameter you could adjust.

I gave an example of how to set it up here:

viewtopic.php?f=55&t=53029

My biggest needs live where quickly changing between sounds, and turning effects on and off, and then altering an effect when on.

I was using a controller and a sound canvas until I bought the FA.

I played in a classic prog rock band doing floyd, styx, kansas, rush, zep, etc.

I thought I would be able to put say, an Organ on Part 1 and play it on the FA, then a Piano on Part 2 and play it from the controller (set to channel 2).