FA08 or DS88 for Newer Player?

Forum for Roland FA-06/08
Clean

FA08 or DS88 for Newer Player?

Post by Clean »

Hi All,

I'm new to the world of keyboard, but I've been playing the guitar for about 7 years now, so not new to aspects of music/theory. I'm looking to purchase my first keyboard for playing at home, making my own tracks, and covers and I've basically narrowed it down to these two. Which one do you think would fit my needs for 80s/new wave/EDM type music? I've tried both and I like the simplicity of the DS88, but also am worried that I won't have the sample/playback capabilities that I would with the FA08?
Skijumptoes

Re: FA08 or DS88 for Newer Player?

Post by Skijumptoes »

I wouldn't worry about the sampling abilities of the FA so much, as they're not fully fleshed out on the FA either. The sampler is ok for recording an audio track or two into it's sequencer, if you play guitar for example, and for creating quick ideas, and having a bit of fun with loops etc. But anything deeper it's quite limited.

It has it's flaws, for example if you want to record audio to the song sequencer you have to record into sample pads, and then play them back via sample triggering, and also that you can't play back samples whilst recording new ones - so, for example, you couldn't record a guitar track via audio in, and then play that back and record vocals over it while the guitar track plays back.

Also, you can't pitch the same sample across different keys, if for example, you wanted to sample a sound and play it back as you would on an old school sampler.