So what gear should I add to have a sampler without a DAW?

Forum for Roland FA-06/08
tidalwaveten

So what gear should I add to have a sampler without a DAW?

Post by tidalwaveten »

No gear is perfect. And the FA-06 seems like it would meet most of my needs. However, like many before me, I'm disappointed that the on-board sampler is limited; that it can't load a sample set spread across keys (e.g. cannot access sample libraries), and cannot pitch and time-shift one sample across keys. Fine. But without having to connect to a DAW--I'm an IT guy by profession, so I'm looking at monitors all day long and want a break from that--what are some affordable options (new or used; preferably used) for adding the sampling capability many of us wanted in the FA-06 but didn't receive. Love hardware sequencers. Hopefully the FA-06's sequencer isn't just an idea scratchpad.

I don't care about any of the live sampling capabilities. But if I want access to a gamelan orchestra multi-sample set, I want to be able to play it from the FA-06, connected however. Seems the the free axial expansion packs actually do contain new wav files. So color me confused.

My budget for a hardware sampler is in the $500 area, new or used.

Also, I'm curious. Why is a keyboard released in 2014 sold for the same street price in 2017? I save older gear catalogs and see that the FA-06 went for $1200 in 2014, and is still being sold new for the same price. Can I get a new FA-06 for less? Would help with purchasing a hardware sampler that would complement the FA-06. I could buy used, but not seeing great deals. $1,000 used... how low will a vendor discount a new FA-06?

Am I missing something? For, say, $1200 + $500 = $1,700, would I find anything like the FA-06 but with the ability to access multi-sample libraries?