Fantom X to FA Transition

Forum for Roland FA-06/08
eyekahn

Fantom X to FA Transition

Post by eyekahn »

I've been using my Fantom X7 since 2007 and am VERY familiar with all the capabilities as well as challenges and limitations of the keyboard. I have been looking at possible replacements for the Fantom X7 in my live rig due to the combination of age and the desire for some newer sound engine capabilities. Up until June 21 of this year, I hadn't considered the FA a candidate due to lack of a 76 note version. Now that the FA-07 is available (and shipping shortly), it looks like a VERY good candidate.

I can't seem to find a 'guide' to migrating from a Fantom X7, so I'm going to ask a few questions here in hope that somebody can answer them.
  • Can Fantom X patches be somehow imported directly into the FA, and if so, are all the mappings, wav sets, etc... compatible? Please note that I do not have ANY SRX cards to be considered.
  • I know that what are called 'performances' on the Fantom X are called something different (Studio Sets?) on the FA. Are the capabilities of this on an FA at least inclusive of the features of a performance on a Fantom X?
  • On the Fantom X, you could change 'performances' via a MIDI bank/patch change command from an external source based on configuring the Fantom X to respond to this on a specific channel. This did require that the Fantom X already be in 'performance' mode prior to sending the bank/patch change. Does this capability for changing the similar feature (Studio Sets?) in an FA exist?
  • I don't need aftertouch (although it would be nice) on the FA because lets be honest, it was horrible on the Fantom X anyway. I don't need the audio tracks recording feature because again... let's be honest, the File IO was SOOOO slow it created a workflow that wasn't usable long term. Are there any other features that were present on the Fantom X that are missing on the FA series that should give me reason to pause?