MX-1 Realizations

Forum for Aira
Onslo Jones

MX-1 Realizations

Post by Onslo Jones »

First off, I can see the value of this gear as a live performance tool. It is nice to have my other aira gear linked to this "hub" and makes it easy to hook up all my hardware. I think i have figured out most of the features so that while playing things back live, all the sound i hear in the room is exciting and working as expected.

However, i am not so much of a live performance guy i am a recording musician. I love the sound of the aira gear and record sound from then to use in ableton with further processing and software. The Mx-1 seemed like it would be great for this purpose as well. I have not wanted to use the aira gear via USB due to the amount of cable swapping and general madness that ensues from selecting the tr-8 as my audio interface. Does roland not know i have an audio interface? I have my monitors hooked up to my main audio interface.

So I figured that the MX-1, which i knew would act as an audio interface, would allow me to have my tr-8 hooked up via USB in the same way as it would be if hooked to my PC by itself. Namely that through the mx-1 i could select the individual outs from the USB stream of the TR-8. Only would make sense since the MX-1 is the hub for the aira gear. Alas, not individual outputs from the TR-8, just a stereo stream from the master output of the TR-8. I have been running the stereo and the A and B analog outputs on the TR-8 so i could later mix the kick and snare independent from the rest of the sounds, so this is an immediate downgrade in the face of what i assumed would be a major upgrade for me.