DEMORA: impressions and thoughts

Forum for Aira
Tom_1970

DEMORA: impressions and thoughts

Post by Tom_1970 »

I bought a Demora last week and I really like this module.

The Demora is a delay module that you can use as a desktop module, but you can also integrate it into a Eurorack modular system. Since I am new to modular synthesizers I haven’t got a Eurorack case yet, but I am planning to buy one in the near future.
On the moment I have the System-1m, Dark Time sequencer, Dark Energy, MiniBrute and Demora to work with in a (semi-)modular setup.

The Demora is a very easy module to work with, just turn the knobs and listen to wat it does to the sound. The fact that you can control parameters with CV/Gate makes it a very interesting thing to work with. Time, Feedback, Width, Dry/Wet, Hold and Bypass are all patchable parameters.
You have delay times from 20 microseconds up to 10 seconds which I think is suitable in most situations where you need a delay effect. The sound is very good in my opinion.

There is also a editor available for the Demora and the other Aira modules.
With this editor or customizer as Roland calls it, you can connect up to 6 virtual modules to the Demora which you can patch in various ways. You can for instance modulate the feedback with a LFO or you can filter the signal before it is delayed. De virtual knobs of these modules can bet patched to the Demora controllers so you can use the knobs to control the filter or whatever parameter. You can even disconnect the main module and use the Demora for instance as a filter module.
For a beginner in the modular field, as I am, this gives you very nice and interesting possibilities.
When you have all the Aira modules the virtual modules give you a more expanded system than the modules itself would give.
When I don’t need a distortion effect I can turn the Toricido into a filter or noise module, which gives interesting possibilities to experiment beyond the scope of the original unit.