Page 1 of 1

Jupiter 4 Plug Out

PostPosted: 10:06, 11 July 2017
by plutonia7
Since there is a Promars, and it's so similar to JP4, why not produce a JP4? It's a synth that has so much character it would really add to System 1 and System 8.

Re: Jupiter 4 Plug Out

PostPosted: 10:23, 11 July 2017
by mimoid
plutonia7 wrote:Since there is a Promars, and it's so similar to JP4, why not produce a JP4? It's a synth that has so much character it would really add to System 1 and System 8.


Roland has clearly stated that EVERY previous Roland synth is planned for a reproduction in a virtual form. So that includes the Jupiter-4 too. Their ACB and DCB frameworks are powerful enough to do that.

Re: Jupiter 4 Plug Out

PostPosted: 10:34, 11 July 2017
by plutonia7
aha, looking forward to it!

Re: Jupiter 4 Plug Out

PostPosted: 18:22, 13 August 2017
by plutonia7
still waiting roland. come on it's one of your
most distinctive sounding synths!

Re: Jupiter 4 Plug Out

PostPosted: 18:34, 8 September 2017
by plutonia7
emailed Roland and was told they have no plans to release jp4. Disappointing.

Reply as follows:

'Thank you very much for your valuable comments and kind words for our products.
Unfortunately, we currently do not have such plan of JUPITER-4 PLUG-OUT and we cannot promise releasing the product, but your comments will be used as our important references.
Thank you again for your cooperation.

Best Regards,
Roland Account Service Team'

Re: Jupiter 4 Plug Out

PostPosted: 01:42, 10 September 2017
by Synthtron
plutonia7 wrote:emailed Roland and was told they have no plans to release jp4. Disappointing.

Reply as follows:

'Thank you very much for your valuable comments and kind words for our products.
Unfortunately, we currently do not have such plan of JUPITER-4 PLUG-OUT and we cannot promise releasing the product, but your comments will be used as our important references.
Thank you again for your cooperation.

Best Regards,
Roland Account Service Team'


Perhaps, but Roland would not let the cat out of the bag to anyone.

Re: Jupiter 4 Plug Out

PostPosted: 12:41, 10 September 2017
by mimoid
plutonia7 wrote:emailed Roland and was told they have no plans to release jp4. Disappointing.

Reply as follows:

'Thank you very much for your valuable comments and kind words for our products.
Unfortunately, we currently do not have such plan of JUPITER-4 PLUG-OUT and we cannot promise releasing the product, but your comments will be used as our important references.
Thank you again for your cooperation.

Best Regards,
Roland Account Service Team'


Bugger... still, I guess doing a software rendering would be really easy - modify the ProMars to allow 4 voices and assign the graphics design team to make a new GUI for the DAW plugin. Two weeks of work for four guys. Some testing, one week for another guy. Make twenty presets. Geez, even I could do that. Post it on the Roland Cloud. Shake 'n' Bake Jupiter 4. Money for nothing.

Re: Jupiter 4 Plug Out

PostPosted: 07:50, 11 September 2017
by Goon
mimoid wrote:Bugger... still, I guess doing a software rendering would be really easy - modify the ProMars to allow 4 voices and assign the graphics design team to make a new GUI for the DAW plugin. Two weeks of work for four guys. Some testing, one week for another guy. Make twenty presets. Geez, even I could do that. Post it on the Roland Cloud. Shake 'n' Bake Jupiter 4. Money for nothing.


Go right ahead and do it then......

Re: Jupiter 4 Plug Out

PostPosted: 04:35, 18 September 2017
by bbdowns
I wish someone would!

Re: Jupiter 4 Plug Out

PostPosted: 11:59, 19 September 2017
by mimoid
Goon wrote:
mimoid wrote:Bugger... still, I guess doing a software rendering would be really easy - modify the ProMars to allow 4 voices and assign the graphics design team to make a new GUI for the DAW plugin. Two weeks of work for four guys. Some testing, one week for another guy. Make twenty presets. Geez, even I could do that. Post it on the Roland Cloud. Shake 'n' Bake Jupiter 4. Money for nothing.


Go right ahead and do it then......


I don't know if that was just an unnecessary snide remark or an actual suggestion, so I go with the second option. Well, there are two main issues with that:

1. I don't work for Roland
2. I don't have access to the budget and the resources of the Roland Cloud developer team

To propose improvement possibilities is up to the user base - that is us. I believe that I have found one apparently low-hanging fruit right here, and that was something I suggested to the Roland Cloud management too.

Now, enhancement requests and suggestions like this are normally handled within the "Discover and Define Opportunities" business process (or similar). It is up to the executive team at Roland to decide to proceed with further investigations or to discard the suggestion. In any way, no harm done.

But maybe my somewhat clumsy and futile effort to try to be humorous (the "shake and bake" part) triggered you in some way, in that case I duly apologize.

Re: Jupiter 4 Plug Out

PostPosted: 23:20, 19 September 2017
by Goon
mimoid wrote:
Goon wrote:
mimoid wrote:Bugger... still, I guess doing a software rendering would be really easy - modify the ProMars to allow 4 voices and assign the graphics design team to make a new GUI for the DAW plugin. Two weeks of work for four guys. Some testing, one week for another guy. Make twenty presets. ]Geez, even I could do that. Post it on the Roland Cloud. Shake 'n' Bake Jupiter 4. Money for nothing.


Go right ahead and do it then......


I don't know if that was just an unnecessary snide remark or an actual suggestion, so I go with the second option. Well, there are two main issues with that:

1. I don't work for Roland
2. I don't have access to the budget and the resources of the Roland Cloud developer team

To propose improvement possibilities is up to the user base - that is us. I believe that I have found one apparently low-hanging fruit right here, and that was something I suggested to the Roland Cloud management too.

Now, enhancement requests and suggestions like this are normally handled within the "Discover and Define Opportunities" business process (or similar). It is up to the executive team at Roland to decide to proceed with further investigations or to discard the suggestion. In any way, no harm done.

But maybe my somewhat clumsy and futile effort to try to be humorous (the "shake and bake" part) triggered you in some way, in that case I duly apologize.


You openly stated you could do it, and was 'easy' you said.... You actually stated ' Geez, even I could do that.' So either you can do it or not, and either its easy as you say or not..

You even say how many people it would take.

So now it seems its not so easy eh...