Seeking help and advice with 2 x MX-1 mixers

Forum for Aira

Seeking help and advice with 2 x MX-1 mixers

Postby Tucker » 21:22, 5 February 2018

I'm just looking for help or advice in making something work that does not seem to be possible. I am using a Roland AIRA MX-1 as my audio interface. I got a second because I needed more channels. And although they can be synced together via USB, that only really provides me with a sub mixer because all of the audio from the 2nd mixer is returned to the first through a USB audio channel. What I would like to do is connect them both to the PC via USB and have them both appear in my DAW, doubling the available DAW channels. But because Windows and ASIO cannot handle two of the same audio interface, my DAW immediately quits when connected this way. I have heard about aggregating, but I can't find good information on PC aggregation and ASIO. Any thoughts?

Thanks!!
User avatar
Tucker
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 04:49, 15 December 2017
Location: Chicago


Re: Seeking help and advice with 2 x MX-1 mixers

Postby ArieGroen » 16:09, 6 February 2018

Hi Tucker,

Have you tried using the ASIO4ALL asio driver?
I never tested it with two MX-1's but I use 4 audio interfaces op my windows10 pc: MX-1, GAIA SH-01, Steinberg UR22 and iConnectMIDI4+. It works fine! Both on CubaseAI and Reaper.

Cheers,
Arie
ArieGroen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 13:44, 23 November 2017

Re: Seeking help and advice with 2 x MX-1 mixers

Postby Tucker » 05:55, 7 February 2018

Thanks, but all of those devices have different names. I don't know how to, or if I even can, change the name of one of the MX-1 mixers. ASIO4ALL can see them both, but they have the same name so only appear once in my DAW.

Tucker
User avatar
Tucker
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 04:49, 15 December 2017
Location: Chicago

Re: Seeking help and advice with 2 x MX-1 mixers

Postby Tucker » 08:39, 7 February 2018

Eureka!
I think I got it working with ASIO4ALL. Thank you to anyone made me second guess myself and try it again.
I will report back later.

Thanks again.
User avatar
Tucker
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 04:49, 15 December 2017
Location: Chicago

Re: Seeking help and advice with 2 x MX-1 mixers

Postby Nuts_milk » 10:14, 8 February 2018

Tucker wrote:Eureka!
I think I got it working with ASIO4ALL. Thank you to anyone made me second guess myself and try it again.
I will report back later.

Thanks again.


If you have any problems you might want to consider getting a sub mixer with a SPDIF output like the Yamaha 01x or similar? Then you could use the one MX1 and get all the extra stuff over SPDIF. Of course that means you must be okay with your sub mixer being recorded as one stereo track
Nuts_milk
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 16:20, 18 January 2018
Location: Mx1 D05 Tr09 Sh01a Tb3 Mpc4000

Re: Seeking help and advice with 2 x MX-1 mixers

Postby Tucker » 02:44, 9 February 2018

No worries. Everything is working fine now, and with the MX-1 driver too. I am not sure how, or whether opening and configuring ASIO4ALL had anything to do with it, but there were real problems with using ASIO4ALL. It somehow multiplied each mixer by two, resulting in four, and caused problems in virtual routing. Strangley, when I switched back to the MX-1 driver, and reopened my DAW, both mixers were available. I have no idea what combination of steps resulted in this, but so far so good. I will report back if I run into any issues.

-Tucker
User avatar
Tucker
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 04:49, 15 December 2017
Location: Chicago


Return to Aira

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests