JDXA is my first synth...tips?

Forum for the JD-XA.
analogharmony

JDXA is my first synth...tips?

Post by analogharmony »

Hey all...synth newbie here. I've been playing music for over 25 years and studying piano/keyboards heavily for the last 4 years. I've recently caught the analog synth bug in a major way and finally saved enough cash for what I hope will be a good learning tool...the JDXA.

It started when a buddy loaned me his Moog Voyager which sounded truly amazing, but I wanted polyphony. I really dig analog tone, but also appreciate what the digital realm has to offer. After MUCH searching around and trying as many synths as I could get my hands on, I settled on the JDXA as it seems like it has A LOT of growing room.

Anyway, sorry for the long winded explanation...I'm just stoked to embark on this new challenge! My request is for anyone to please send any and all tips, tricks, and/or links for learning that you may have; either specifically for the JDXA, or for synth sound shaping in general. My synth arrives tomorrow (if all goes well) and I know that there will be a long learning curve.

Thanks in advance!
cello

Re: JDXA is my first synth...tips?

Post by cello »

Welcome to the JD-XA owners club and to the Clan! :)

I've attached a document which is 42 pages of JD-XA goodness (AKA Best Known Methods) which fellow Clan member, Jdoo, collated from multiple online sources. Some great reading that will help you understand the XA better and equip you for a rewarding musical journey.

And there's always folks here that will help if and when you need it.
Attachments
JDXA-BKMs.pdf
(1.39 MiB) Downloaded 382 times
Jdoo

Post by Jdoo »

Thanks Cello. The document was updated slightly a couple of months ago (just a few additions). It's posted here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/8ix7j5dyaant7 ... .docx?dl=0 . Cello - I've been meaning to send you the update :P