External controller?

Forum for the JD-XA.

External controller?

Postby TornadoTed » 09:45, 2 June 2017

I have a JD-XA on order which is super exciting, I have had my eye on one since it's release and I finally have the funds and space to get one.

One question I had, is anyone using an external controller to access some of the menu functions, for example choosing the digital wave which I have read several times is a bit of a laborious task?

I was thinking of adding something small and cheap like maybe this http://www.faderfox.de/pc4.html
TornadoTed
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 09:40, 18 August 2015


Re: External controller?

Postby Duplobaustein » 13:59, 2 June 2017

I don't think you will be able to choose from 400+ waves with a fader easily. ;)

Actually this is a thing a quite like so far. You can hit a note/chord, toggle through the waves and with every wave the note/chord gets retriggered. Like that you can listen to the waves pretty convenient, but for sure a data encoder would be nice.
User avatar
Duplobaustein
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 17:06, 10 May 2016
Location: Vienna

Re: External controller?

Postby TornadoTed » 21:05, 3 June 2017

Whoops, yes I juts noticed that the Faderfox has pots and not encoders.
TornadoTed
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 09:40, 18 August 2015

Re: External controller?

Postby OneOfManyPauls » 20:02, 4 June 2017

If you're using the jd-xa in a studio and have it hooked up to a computer, the Memory Splice editor makes wave selection easy if you are happy to just select from a drop-down list.

http://memorysplice.com/jdxa/

the editor is very good at some things (especially the deep menu stuff like effects and the new arp editor) but currently lacks things you would likely expect if coming from something like the sound-tower editors for DSI or the sub 37 editor (eg no save/load/patch pull from jd-xa). More discussion about it in the FB jd-xa group:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1405213 ... 586206003/
OneOfManyPauls
 
Posts: 84
Joined: 11:41, 3 May 2016

Re: External controller?

Postby TornadoTed » 08:05, 30 June 2017

For the Memory Splice editor to change the PCM waveform it must send a CC or NRPN or something or am I getting that wrong? I have been through the MIDI Implementation manual and can't seem to find it. I have a BeatStep Pro that can send both CC's and NRPN's if I could just find out the numbers.

Anyone know?
TornadoTed
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 09:40, 18 August 2015

Re: External controller?

Postby OneOfManyPauls » 08:37, 30 June 2017

Looking at the memory splice editor output, digital part wave selection is being done via sysex.
OneOfManyPauls
 
Posts: 84
Joined: 11:41, 3 May 2016

Re: External controller?

Postby TornadoTed » 12:34, 30 June 2017

Thank you, seems it can't be done with a controller then. If it had been possible I'd have bought another Beatstep for £60 and dedicated it to the JDXA.

Looks like I'll be dropping $99 on Memory Splice.

Lets hope Roland give us a Shift + ? shortcut for selecting waves in the future as it is the most laborious every day function of an otherwise hands on instrument.
TornadoTed
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 09:40, 18 August 2015

Re: External controller?

Postby saturn » 17:42, 30 June 2017

TornadoTed wrote:Lets hope Roland give us a Shift + ? shortcut for selecting waves in the future as it is the most laborious every day function of an otherwise hands on instrument.


i wouln't count on it. if roland would make an update to change things it would be like admitting a mistake.
and you know what samurais do in that case? XD
User avatar
saturn
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 11:08, 8 February 2017

Re: External controller?

Postby Duplobaustein » 17:32, 3 July 2017

Ehhhhhh, there was something with an overlay, isn't it? ;)
User avatar
Duplobaustein
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 17:06, 10 May 2016
Location: Vienna


Return to JD-XA Keyboard

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest