horrible noise from JDXi when using in DAW (Logic express 9)

Forum for the JD-Xi Keyboard.

horrible noise from JDXi when using in DAW (Logic express 9)

Postby sleepingangel » 06:36, 24 April 2015

Hi

One of my main reasons for purchasing this unit was that it would have audio and midi via usb.

I used to have the Ultranova and it worked flawlessly. I don't own that synth anymore and in getting this synth I thought I'd have a similar experience.

Here's the problem: (and I'm pretty sure all the midi drivers etc were installed right as I was able to do the "sound test" they recommended in the read me and it worked.

When I add a track and it doesn't matter if it's midi or audio (and they both record the jdxi data) there is horrible LOUD noise coming from the keyboard it'self and it doesn't matter if I choose the output as the JDXI or the output of the laptop the noise is still there. I tried to increase the buffer size to the max as well as the recording margin and nothing changes this.

I'm very frustrated as I really hoped to record compositions with this keyboard.

Please help if you think I'm doing something incorrectly or if you have any suggestions. OR if this is a bug how do I report it to Roland. Thanks so much

Maria
sleepingangel
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 06:43, 23 April 2015


Re: horrible noise from JDXi when using in DAW (Logic expres

Postby Synthtron » 13:21, 24 April 2015

I am not sure about the horrible noise over USB.

I know you said you have all the divers loaded. Did you download the Driver from Roland's website for the JD-Xi?
You could call Roland. I believe the number is in the manual for different countries.
You could also e-mail them via Roland's website support.

I have always had issues using computers (something not compatible, constant updates, technology changing, gear no longer supported in updates, etc. etc.) and have not relied on a DAW for making music in sometime.
I mainly use the computer for file, data management and Netflix.

I have Sonar X (the latest version) but I can't tweak my system enough to get the performance I need. Also I have the SH-101 Plug out software which does not work properly in Sonar but works properly in other demo DAWs I have tried. Even though the SH-101 software is registered it still acts like it is a demo and not registered(Volume goes in and out at intervals) Roland told me I would need to wipe everything and start over. I said forget it.

That is another story.

Good luck with the JD-XI noise issue and report back any findings.
User avatar
Synthtron
 
Posts: 617
Joined: 16:24, 26 November 2011
Location: USA-East Coast

Re: horrible noise from JDXi when using in DAW (Logic expres

Postby sleepingangel » 20:53, 24 April 2015

Hey there,
Yes I'm going to have to call Roland. Here's the weird part. It works perfectly in Garageband.

So my choice is to work with a very limited DAW like Garageband on mac or Figure out the Logic problem.
I have an old version and when I looked at the new version I was amazed that it looks so much like Garageband. Much more user friendly I suppose. The other problem might be that I haven't update my os to Yosemite because I heard people have trouble with there music software etc but maybe that is the problem.

I will try and get to the bottom of it because it's quite frustrating to have such nice gear and not be able to record with it the way I want!!

Take care
Maria
sleepingangel
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 06:43, 23 April 2015

Re: horrible noise from JDXi when using in DAW (Logic expres

Postby Synthtron » 00:06, 25 April 2015

sleepingangel wrote:Hey there,
The other problem might be that I haven't update my os to Yosemite because I heard people have trouble with there music software etc but maybe that is the problem.


Hopefully that will work and you get it sorted soon.
User avatar
Synthtron
 
Posts: 617
Joined: 16:24, 26 November 2011
Location: USA-East Coast

Re: horrible noise from JDXi when using in DAW (Logic expres

Postby soloquest » 03:53, 13 May 2015

I too, am hearing a "noise" in Logic 9.
17" MBP 2.6 GHZ Core 2 Duo
6 gig ram
OSX 10.6.8
Logic 9.1.8
JD Xi v1.10

It's not USB related because USB only works in OSX 10.7 and up, so I'm not using USB

JD Xi audio out to MOTU 896 Firewire Interface
MIDI i/o to MOTU Micro Express

I have a stereo audio track set up in Logic for the JD Xi and I noticed that I was getting a "level" in the VU meters with the keyboard being played. Volume on JD Xi at 50%. I turned up my mixer to my monitors and heard nasty electronic noise. The noise level is constant and unaffected by the JD Xi volume control. It sounds like reciprocating machinery... except more electronic than mechanical. I recorded it... can I upload an mp3 here?

What ever it is, it's nasty and unacceptable. I really like the concept and the sound of this machine (without the noise), but the more I play with it, the more "toy like" I realize that it is.

I can boot into Yosemite to test it, but I don't have Logic X yet.
soloquest
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 05:48, 9 May 2015

Re: horrible noise from JDXi when using in DAW (Logic expres

Postby soloquest » 04:09, 13 May 2015

Here it is. Is this the same noise you're hearing?

TURN YOUR SPEAKERS DOWN FIRST!

I normalized this clip, so it's loud. And it's NASTY!

http://www.floydweb.com/test/jdxi_noise.mp3
soloquest
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 05:48, 9 May 2015

Re: horrible noise from JDXi when using in DAW (Logic expres

Postby sleepingangel » 05:00, 13 May 2015

yes it's similar . Here is Mine:
(the file is below this post)
and by the way I downloaded reaper and it works perfectly with the jd-xi. I have no interface, I went into mac via the usb from the synth and I was able to record a midi track using the jd's sounds as well as an audio track and have it record the audio from synth using the midi notes onto the new track.
So it's surely something to do with logic express for me

thanks for uploading and hope you can figure out how to fix it for me I've given up and will use reaper to record the jd xi
I'm hoping for some iPad compatibility though
Maria
Attachments
noise from jdxi.mp3
(159.42 KiB) Downloaded 86 times
sleepingangel
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 06:43, 23 April 2015

Re: horrible noise from JDXi when using in DAW (Logic expres

Postby funktree » 04:45, 17 May 2015

I got a terrible noise when using the two partials on a digital sound. I just changed the gain of one partial sound from +6 db to 0 db. and the pops were crazy loud. This only happens when the RING mode is turned on. I will try to replicate it but really nasty sound. But I do get this without a computer hooked up. Just editing a digital sound with RING mode on and changing a gain of a one partial sound (layer)
User avatar
funktree
 
Posts: 107
Joined: 11:42, 11 April 2015

Re: horrible noise from JDXi when using in DAW (Logic expres

Postby sleepingangel » 00:55, 18 May 2015

I just basically gave up using this keyboard with Logic Express. I downloaded a trial of Reaper and it works like a charm. I can use the audio and midi with only the usb cable and it's awesome. I can record a midi track and change it anyway I want and then add an audio track arm it and route everything so that the jdxi plays and I can record the midi track to audio using the sound I want from the JD-xi...
GOODBYE logic express with this keyboard. I still will use it with my Novation mininova and an interface as it works fine with it but not with the jdxi...crazy
sleepingangel
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 06:43, 23 April 2015

Re: horrible noise from JDXi when using in DAW (Logic expres

Postby andyrooney » 03:49, 26 December 2017

Well, I've been having the same issue. It's possible it's a consequence of my updating the version to 1.5 recently. I am getting the noise into my DAW, Logic Pro, when I cue up an audio track. That's using the USB output on the JDXi. Also happens with the sequencer. Sometimes switching the program makes the sound go away, but then playing the sequenced recording makes it start again. I am no pro when it comes to MIDI and so I don't know if there's some trigger occurring that causes this. I am able to work around the problem by running audio from JDXi headphone output thru a sampler and then a Steinberg UR22... I wish this problem could be fixed. If anyone finds a fix, well, let's hope.
andyrooney
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 03:17, 26 December 2017


Return to JD-Xi Keyboard

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest